Skip to content

A sneak peak on things to come

November 11, 2008

After great deliberation and a fair amount of ……….

coffee

My elixir of choice!

I’m starting to piece together 2009 and just what this road to 40 really means to me.   I’ve hinted at things to come for 2009, but in all honesty, I’ve been struggling with a few things.

First, do I do one thing really big or do I do some smaller things that add up to a big thing.  The really big thing means a large commitment, both by me and by my family.   Right now, I’m thinking a series of smaller things that add up to something big.

Second, what events?   Last year, my goal was better health and to get a 100+ mile gravel day ride in.  I did the GTDRI and that went swimmingly.  To top that off, I also did a ride out to the event with all my gear.  I ended the 2 days with almost 150 miles.  It was a great test to do some back to back riding and to test my prototype Salsa Fargo.  My first real statement of commitment for 2009 is to do a 200 mile gravel day.  Does this mean Dirty Kanza or does this mean something else entirely?  That is a detail I have yet to work out…But I will say that DK is a strong option and I’ve also started compiling maps of North Dakota.   Time will tell but I better get training for 200 miles of gravel!

With that, I’ll leave you with this sneak peak.  Yeah, its the second sneak peak.  You’ll see the full monty on the Salsa blog one of these days with a bit more details about the bags.

Bags or rack?  Hmmmm....?????

Bags or rack? Hmmmm....?????

Here’s to dreaming about riding!  I think I need more coffee.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    November 11, 2008 4:17 pm

    Love to see a full picture of the Salsa with the Epic frame bag.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    November 11, 2008 8:00 pm

    Maybe tomorrow. Maybe Thursday. I assure you, you’ll see some shots. I hope to use it on my morning commute. Might even get it wet and dirty. Who needs or wants a clean shot? Let’s see this thing in use.

  3. November 12, 2008 6:33 am

    I’m also exploring the frame bag thing for the Fargo. This lightweigh bikepacking thing sounds like fun.

    I hope all becomes clear for you soon in regards to 2009. Whatever you decide, I’m betting it will be a most memorable year on your way to even bigger memories in the future……….

  4. November 12, 2008 11:50 am

    I will definitely have one of those bags for my Fargo… I’ll have racks too, but I like options and I think there will be a time for either, and likely a time for both. Having as much mass as possible centralized on the frame is a concept that appeals to me as well, especially for off-road adventure touring.

    As for your “road to 40” plans, I think your path will become clearer to you and that you just need to follow your heart, talk through it with Jen and simply be true to yourself. Only you know what you need to do to fulfill your need for this “next adventure” in your life. I just hope that the next year is your best, most memorable and fulfilling year yet in your incredible life. I’m looking forward to sharing in some of those adventures with you — that much I know for certain!!

    Talk to you soon.

    Cheers,
    MG

Leave a Reply

