Skip to content

Sketchy

November 12, 2008

My commute this morning was wet, somewhat muddy, and at times down right sketchy!  Ok, it was cold too, but not that bad.   I hit the trail at 6:00AM and it was dark and about 32 degrees.  The single track was a little slippery due to all the wet leaves.   After about 30 minutes of some sweet single track and soft snow covered scenery, I made it to the 9 Mile Creek rope pull raft.   Once I made it down to the bottom and onto the floating raft, I took a rest, enjoyed the silence of the moment and took some pics.

Let's see...step off a floating raft and walk up those while carrying my bike?

Do I really have to climb up that while carrying my bike?!

Had fun this morning working with long exposures.  It was pretty dark due to the early morning and overcast skies.   I experimented with 2.5 second exposures all the way up to 15 seconds.   Mixxed results and not my best work but it sure was fun.   Pic above is from a 3.2 second exposure.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 7:46 pm

    liking this layout much better. more bloggy I guess.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    November 12, 2008 8:09 pm

    Thanks Rick. I like it too. I like the Polaroid looking photos AND bigger photo options.

  3. November 13, 2008 6:24 am

    I thought those steps, sloping away down hill as they do, were sketchy when dry. With a bit of snow on them? Yeah…………

    Glad you are still able to fly down that sweet single track Gnat. Hopefully the heavy snow holds off for a bit so you can do that some more.

  4. November 13, 2008 8:51 am

    Wow… That’s super sketchy! Some of my favorite conditions to ride in are when it’s just frozen and there are 1-2 inches of beautiful, fresh powder on the ground. Though I’m not a resolute fan of the frigid winter temps, I have an absolute love of slip-sliding through the snow on big soft knobby tires! I don’t mind skiing through it once it gets deep enough either, but my natural disposition is to rip it on two wheels… Here in Nebraska, our ski scene is pretty weak — but the bike scene isn’t.

  5. November 13, 2008 8:53 am

    BTW, I really like the new layout too. Lookin’ good brother…

    Cheers,
    MG

Leave a Reply

