Skip to content

Salsa Big Mama – My next project

November 15, 2008

No more prototypes.  The real deal has landed.  I’m stoked.  I plan to put together the parts this weekend and build it next week.  Stay tuned.  The other good news is that the ground if freezing here in MN, 20 degrees this morning, so I think I can still get some late season laps in on this thing.

Final Production...Finally!

Final Production...Finally!

Hope you all have a fine weekend planned.  Enjoy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron from Massachusetts permalink
    November 15, 2008 1:24 pm

    MORE FARGO PLEASE………. I want a fargo very badly and need more fargo content until I can get my hands on a complete bike.

    P.S I stumbled upon your blog looking for fargo info and your blog has become a daily reader. Keep up the great posts and photos.

  2. d.p. permalink
    November 15, 2008 3:38 pm

    Looks like fun. We’re at the awkward stage of having ground temps. warmer than air temps.

    Just got the Nov/Dec Adventure Cyclist and see your Fargo got the only “head shot” in their interbike coverage (p.33). Congrats!

  3. November 15, 2008 7:54 pm

    Damn, she looks sweet. Can’t wait to see the finished build.

  4. November 15, 2008 9:06 pm

    Wow that is a gorgeous frame. I am mighty tempted by it. Post more pics as the build progresses.

  5. November 15, 2008 11:26 pm

    Nice! I bet you are really excited knowing how you were so stoked on the prototypes. Glad to hear that things are “firming up” in your area for riding too. That Big Mama won’t care if the ground is hard and your body won’t even know it!

    MG was so excited that he called me last night about his Big Mama landing in his hands. I’m super stoked for you guys!

    Have a great weekend.

  6. November 17, 2008 11:11 am

    WOOHOO!!!! Our excitement is well-founded, good buddies. The production version of the Big Mama delivers on the promise of the prototypes in grand fashion. I got a good, long ride in on mine Saturday, and another shorter ride yesterday, and I can say without a doubt that it’s everything I expected it to be. It’s even surprised me in some respects in fact, like the phenomenal lateral stiffness it displays. I’ve never ridden a 29er that is as stiff and accurate in corners as the Big Mama. You know exactly what both tires are doing at all times. It’s very solid.

    While I’m tempted to throw my light wheels on it to make it accelerate like a rocket, I can see how it’d be easy to ruin wheels with this bike… It invites you to abuse it mercilessly. I find myself seeking out lips and bumps to boost little jumps off of. Curbs can literally disappear without even pulling up, or standing up for that matter… It’s amazing. Big wheels and 100mm of smooth, efficient travel equals big, BIG fun.

    Guitar Ted, you need a Big Mama. I think this is the perfect dualie for you. It’s actually stiff enough for you! You won’t be finding yourself wanting for a laterally stiffer frame for once! Man, I hope one finds its way into your quiver with quickness…

    Have fun with your build-up Gnat! Thanks for getting me on the Big Mama’s early-arrival train. I really appreciate it… she’s an amazing dancer.

    Cheers,
    MG

Leave a Reply

