Skip to content

Random things connected by freedom, adventure and expression

November 19, 2008

My posts have been a bit random lately.  It’s a result of my work workload, our commitments at home and not enough time on my bike.   Sorry about that.   If you are tired of reading my short posts, I’ve got news for you today.   My randomness is still here, but today I’ve got a lot to say.   If you need some coffee, go get it.

It’s no secret I’ve been riding my Salsa Fargo almost exclusively for the last several months.  While I miss dirt, I’ve been on a mission to test, build, test, build, test, etc.   You see, I’ve got a rough plan outlined for 2008 that includes this bike and at the moment, I need to get my configuration set.     Joe Meiser and I were debating the merits of racks w/bags vs custom built bags that attach without racks.  He convinced me to give bags a try.  You’ve seen the sneak peaks of some bags I’m testing here on the blog as well as in my current header picture.  I’ve been doing a bunch of testing, riding, stopping, re-packing, & riding some more.   I’ve got a full report with information for others wanting these bags going up next Monday on the Salsa blog.  Stay tuned.  Until then, here is a full shot of my bike with some stuff inside.  I’m bummed that I can’t read Fargo on the top tube…….:(

Epic Bags - Loaded and Ready.

Epic Bags - Loaded and Ready.

I’ve also invested in one of the coolest little things I’ve seen in ages.   You all know I’m a bit fond of photography.   I’m also a fan of riding with my camera….although that has proven fatal (for my camera) more than once this year.   Well….With the darkness that is winter is upon us, I was in need of a mini tripod or support for my camera.  Check this out.

A great solution for compact cameras.   Pic from Manfrotto.

A great solution for compact cameras. Pic from Manfrotto.

Manfrotto Modopocket.  No more perching or balancing my camera on things.   Now, I can confidently perch my camera and more importantly, I can work and experiment with long exposures.   It also folds up and allows me to quickly put my camera in my pocket, my camera bag, or even in my custom frame bag.  Simply an amazing piece of design.  It’s $35MSRP.  I got mine for $25.

Other Camera Lust.  Check this out.  This is my personal dream camera.  Olympus showed it in October at the photo industry Photokina tradeshow.  If you are into photography equipment this is likely old news.  But if your not, check this out, Olympus M4/3 compact camera.

p1050311

I'm saving for this already!

(photo from the Ricoh-GR-Diary.  New link at right)

Interchangable lens.  Larger 4/3 sensor, at least larger than all but one point and shoot camera.   Haters of the 4/3rd system, please don’t comment.  You don’t get it.   There is a need for this camera.

The good news is that I bought into the Olympus thing before I ever saw this.  That’s good news because hopefully anything I buy for my current camera could be compatible with this.  I’m crossing my fingers.   I’ll be selling off bike parts like crazy to buy this thing if it ever actually comes to market.

Last, but not least, check out my new photography blogroll links.   I’ll be adding to this as I find and meet folks with similar passions.  The over arching theme of the photo blogs I’m checking out is that they are blogs from folks who mostly shoot with compact cameras.   Frankly, I pretty much can’t stand some of the pro, larger format photography stuff because people are even more narcassistic about camera ability and knowledge than bike people.  Yeah, I know that may be hard to believe, but it is true.  The folks I like to follow are folks that shoot with pocket cameras, much of it in black & white, and at times use the limitations of their cameras as part of the artistic expression.  Besides, I want better compact cameras because they are lighter, smaller, less intrusive and easier to pack in my adventure kit so I want to support the folks that are pushing the micro niche in an over pixelated, large sensor, HD video camera world.

Ok…Enough for now.  I’ve also got a new series idea I may introduce in the coming weeks and the first couple of ideas sure come with long rants.  We’ll see.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 11:20 pm

    Hi Gnat. I use a point and shoot Canon to take everything you see on my daily photo blog. I agree that it’s pretty hard to lug anything else around with you on your bike. That Olympus looks sweet!

    Love the look of the Fargo with the custom bags. Maybe I need one for my Casseroll.

  2. November 20, 2008 6:00 am

    Being that you are the big cheese in the vat of spicy goodness that IS Salsa, could you not “acquire” an extra Fargo sticker for the seat tube? Then you won’t be so bummed and can pimp the Fargo on your adventure. 😉

  3. Gnat permalink*
    November 20, 2008 8:43 am

    Ben, welcome and thanks for commenting.

    I checked out your blog this morning. Great stuff. I’ll be checking back often. I added it to my Photo blogroll. Thanks for riding a Casseroll too. I love that bike.

  4. Steve Sammons (SS ;) ) permalink
    November 20, 2008 8:50 am

    I just discovered your blog recently,and I wanted to say I have been enjoying it.
    I’m in aa bit of a cash flow bind right now,but that won’t last but a few months (I sure hope =P),when things level out,I think I really want a Fargo!Lots of that due to what I’ve seen here.

    I always kinda liked Salsa bikes (loved their stems/skewers for years),and it has occurred to me that “someday” will never come if i don’t break down and do it.I think next year will be the year that I replace some Redlines (or at least their frames) (i have 2 monocogs,1’s a flite,and a 29er that’s converted me to the 29er tribe).

    Anyhoo,just wanted to tell ya I enjoy your posts here,and look foreward to more projects and r&d.

  5. November 20, 2008 9:43 am

    Man, that Olympus looks so cool… The tripod thingie too. Dangit… You might just succeed in turning me into a photo geek after all. How is my meager income going to support two expensive passions?! If my wife leaves me, I’m blaming you!!!

    Nice bags brah… It’s like the panel bike. Runnin’ under the cover of darkness… Stealthbike. The black ghost.

    Okay, I’m done.

    Word,
    MG

  6. November 20, 2008 10:12 am

    Hurry up and send the pattern for the medium frame to Epic so he can make my frame bag! 🙂 That thing is cool; I can’t wait! I’m enjoying every minute on my Fargo…

  7. Gnat permalink*
    November 20, 2008 3:32 pm

    JS, he should have the drawings now. In fact, I think he told me on Monday that he had 2 orders for medium frame bags.

  8. JMeiser permalink
    November 20, 2008 9:55 pm

    JS,

    I sent those drawings to Epic last week! He’s got alot of work right now. Winter adventure season is upon him.

  9. November 20, 2008 10:13 pm

    Good timing guys–he emailed me a little while ago and said I’m on the short list. Thanks a bunch for the blog and the great bike.

Leave a Reply

