Skip to content

Project Salsa Big Mama

November 23, 2008

I mentioned last week that project La Cruz and project wheelbuilds had begun.  Well, as usual, my attention span moved onto something else.   I took one La Cruz apart and haven’t even started the wheels yet.  So what’s the distraction?   Enter Project Big Mama.

Only the good stuff on this one!

Only the good stuff on this one!

I’m pretty excited to ride a final production version.   As you likely know if you’ve been reading the Gnat Blog for a bit, I’ve spent quite a bit of time on prototype Big Mama’s.  I’ve been waiting for quite some time to get my hands on a production bike.   I had planned on waiting and getting some new King in brown.  Well, both my lack of patience and my pocket book convinced me to install the plain old black stuff.

Some Old...Some New.

Some Old...Some New.

I’ve been saving my trusty XTR group for this build.   I may do a little work with a dual ring set up, but for now I’ll start with this.   Even though the XTR stuff is pretty plain from a color perspective, I do have a few little ano bits on this bike.

Just a few hints of color on this build.

Just a few hints of color on this build.

So far, this is one sweet build.  I’ve got a few finishing touches to put on it.  A couple that might just put this build over the top in terms of bling-O-rama.  Seriously.   More to come hopefully later this week.  It also looks like if I finish this up I should still be able to get a few laps on the frozen ground at my local test track.

Hope your weekend was swell.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2008 4:45 pm

    Jason, can you loosen the bolt fitting for the banjo fitting and get it to angle down so the hose follows the stay closer? Minor pet peeve of mine 😉

    I sent you an e-mail just a few minutes ago. Let’s talk!

    Mike

  2. Gnat permalink*
    November 23, 2008 5:11 pm

    Mike, thanks for the note.

    Well…I think you can. The bolt is odd though in that it must be a hollow bolt that threads all the way through the brake body. I’ll give it a try when I cut and bleed the brakes. The brakes were on another bike until just a few short hours ago.

    Pet peeves? You? I don’t think I’ll ever show you one of my drop bar tape jobs. 😉

    I’ll check email tomorrow when I get to work. I’m trying not to open work email on the weekends.

  3. captain bob permalink
    November 23, 2008 7:34 pm

    I see you pulled G-Ted on the headset cup install. 🙂 Let’s hope the rest of the bike remains right-side-up. You don’t need any broken bones.

    It’s gonna be a sweet ride. Can’t wait to see one of these sweeties on the trail.

  4. November 23, 2008 10:24 pm

    Yeah! Nicely done from what I can see of it so far. I’m betting you’ll have a blast on it too.

  5. Marty permalink
    November 24, 2008 8:43 am

    Yeah….like an XTR drive train ISN’T bling Jason. Can’t wait to see it!

  6. November 25, 2008 8:27 am

    Damn, the Big Mama is looking sweet… You’re NOT helping with my bike choices dude!! I have somce XTR bits ear marked for the Dos but…. 😉

    Later.

  7. November 25, 2008 10:04 am

    Congratulations Jason… I knew it would come to this sooner or later. I can’t wait to see the ungodly level of sweetness this bike will be packin’, because knowing the standards you have, it’s got to be incredible!!!

  8. Randot permalink
    January 13, 2009 7:01 pm

    Hey there. I’m thinking of picking one of these up. Comment on your headset. It sure looks like there is grease in there between the headtube and the headset cups! Also, they are upside down. Both very bad build signs. Shame on you!

Leave a Reply

