Skip to content

Blast from the past

November 24, 2008

I’ve mentioned twice in the last week that I needed to build some wheels.  Right now, I’ve got a couple wheel builds planned.  Wheels are pretty much the coolest part of any bike.  Check out this photo from 20 years ago taken and used by the MN Daily when I was in college at the University of MN.

The old days at Freewheel Bike in MPLS

The old days at Freewheel Bike in MPLS

I used to love building wheels.  I used to be really good at it.  I used to be skinny too.   I built hundreds and hundreds of wheels.  I also built wheels for the U of MN’s solar powered vehicle race car and for the Mizzou solar powered vehicle car.

But….I’m out of practice and I’ve been procrastinating.  Sure I’ve been busy, but I’ve also been putting it off.   Thankfully spokes, hubs, nipples, rims, tension, tools and my old process are all pretty much still the same so I think it’ll come back to me.    With that, I better get to it.  Report(s) and pictures to come.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. b-rant permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:30 pm

    who’s the skinny kid with the baseball cap all backward…

  2. captain bob permalink
    November 26, 2008 6:58 am

    That;s a great photo. Has a vintage look to it. Oh, wait! It is Vintage!

Leave a Reply

