Skip to content

A stunning morning on my salsa fargo

December 1, 2008

Since I leave for Taiwan later this week, this morning may have been my only chance to commute this week.   With that, I planned to take a little extra time to explore and take a few pictures.   It was roughly 8 degrees when factoring in the wind chill so it was cold.  I hit the MN River bottoms for my normal commute.  I bypassed one of my favorite spots to photo the morning light because  I had another location in mind this morning.

I pressed on and unfortunately, I couldn’t get to the spot I wanted to shoot from.  I could see it but I couldn’t get to it.  The rope pull raft was frozen into the ice.   There is a log walk crossing over the creek, but it had snow on it and I was in cycling shoes.  I just didn’t want to chance it considering I was alone, it was cold and falling 10 feet into the open ice water wasn’t something I wanted to do.  So instead, I did some exploring.

Time for a little exploration

Time for a little exploration

I walked around a bit, took a couple of below average shots and then got back on board my Fargo to explore a little more.  I ended up back tracking and finding a new route.  It ended up being a great detour because I stumbled into an amazing spot to shoot some photos. I walked around for about 10-15 minutes as the sun came up.  I froze my hands while taking about 60 photos.  I’ll share my favorite this Friday for Photo Friday, but until then, here is a sneak peak.

Morning time reflection

Morning time reflection

When you start a day with stuff like this, it’s hard for a day to go poorly.   Even when I rode part way home after work and then had to turn around and ride back to get my camera, phone, keys, & wallet that I left on the bench at work I still thought today was great.    That’s a hard thing to say on a Monday after 4 days off.

I just love my morning adventures.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    December 2, 2008 5:42 am

    Very nice! Love the reflection shot. Man, you must have logged quite a few miles.

  2. December 2, 2008 6:21 am

    Stunning indeed. You weren’t kidding. Anxious for Photo Friday. Safe travels later in the week.
    jm

Leave a Reply

