Skip to content

What that red stuff?

December 9, 2008

Yesterday’s post got a little heavy and spurred quite a few conversations and blog posts from other concerned bloggers.  Thanks so much for the support.  It was nice reading from Taiwan.   Because yesterday was what it was, I thought I’d change it up a bit and talk about the other thing I love….Food!

We had Spicy Hot Pot last night!   What is spicy hot pot?  Click the “FOOD” category at the right after finishing this post.  One of the ingredients in Spicy Hot pot is coagulated duck blood.   Just after we were served, I looked over to the kitchen and saw this.

My view of the kitchen.

My view of the kitchen.

What should I think when I see 5 people, some blood and a first aid kit in the kitchen?  What’s that red stuff in the broth?

We all got a good laugh out of it and proceeded to eat.  On my first bite, I got part of a hot pepper and my sweat glands just opened up.  The food was amazing, but I’ve got to say this was the spiciest hot pot I’d ever eaten.  Didn’t help that I sucked in that pepper on my first bite.    Man o man was it good.

While I love hot pot, I have a new favorite.  Stay tuned for Friday’s post along with Friday photo for details.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2008 8:32 am

    Heh heh! Yeah, that is pretty funny! Good on ya for not letting it spoil your evening and fun.

    I know what you mean about those Oriental hot peppers! Nice to eat, but on the first bite? Yikes!

  2. December 9, 2008 9:22 am

    The interesting thing about the peppers is that many of my hosts wouldn’t necessarily eat them, but when I ate them, they seemed to be impressed. The hotness of the peppers is only fleeting and doesn’t stay with you like jalapeno or habanero peppers. I miss the food over there.

  3. captain bob permalink
    December 9, 2008 8:22 pm

    the spice was to drown out the taste of blood.

Leave a Reply

