Skip to content

Observations from Taiwan

December 14, 2008
tags: ,

This week, I’ll be writing a few stories about my lessons learned and my observations from my recent visit to Taiwan.  I am by no means an expert.  These are just my experiences.   I left Taiwan this time with a much different feeling than in the past.  I’ve always thought Taiwan is a beautiful land.   This time, I saw more beauty in the cities.   I mentioned already that I learned more on this trip than any of my previous trips to Taiwan.  I’m not sure why?   I think it is just I’m in a different place and that I am changing.

I also spent more time “IN” the cities this time.  My last two trips to Taiwan were for trade shows, meaning I spent time in a city, a building and a centralized place.  This trip I spent time traveling. I was in multiple cities.  I used public transportation.  I rode in more taxis.  I took the high speed train.  I spent more time dealing with manufactures and manufacturing.    I saw more with my own eyes.  I asked more questions.  I took more pictures.   It was an amazing place.

Today I’m going to spend a little time sharing about my experiences in Taichung.  Taichung is a city of just over one million people.  It is located centrally and just to the west of the central Taiwan mountain range.  Just to the west is the ocean and the port in Taichung has the second largest ocean container port in Taiwan.  Taichung is a major city with much industry.  Many computer industries are there as is a good portion of the bicycle industry manufacturing.  Taiwan in general has become the high end bicycle capital of the world with Taichung being an important part of that.

One morning, I couldn’t sleep so I got up and walked around the city a bit.  This is what a fairly typical street looked like in Taichung.

A typical street in Taichung City

A typical street in Taichung City

While walking around you see so many beautiful things.  All you have to do is look closely. I took the following picture on the very street in the picture above.

A closer look

A closer look

Walking through the city, you see many things.  Scooters are everywhere.

Scooters everywhere!

Scooters everywhere!

In all honesty, I can’t believe you don’t see accidents.  I did see a car accident this year, but I did not see a single scooter accident.

There are also countless street vendors, cafe’s and restaurants.   It was fun to see the entrepreneurial spirit of the Taiwanese.   While I’ve posted about the formal dinners I’ve attended in Taiwan and how good the food is, it is at these street businesses that you can find the most amazing food.   I also witnessed the hard, hard work that the Taiwanese do day in and day out. Here are few pics taken from the hip while walking around.

Have I mentioned I love coffee?

Have I mentioned I love coffee?

A little street bar-be-que

A little street bar-be-que

A Taiwan version of an American Diner

A Taiwan version of an American Diner

I really enjoyed my time in Taichung.    I’ll leave you with one last picture.  I never found out if this was actually a bowling alley.  Maybe my next visit.  Man, how cool would a Taiwanese bowling alley be?

Bowling anyone?

Bowling anyone?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2008 8:32 pm

    Welcome home. Great pics. I KNOW you tried the Pig Throat!

  2. Gnat permalink*
    December 14, 2008 8:42 pm

    No pig throat…At least that I know of. I did have chicken testicles. They make you strong.

  3. December 14, 2008 9:03 pm

    Hello Gnat, I have few questions hope you will have time to answer.

    I have checked your blog several times before I decided on purchasing Olympus E420 and I hope you don’t mind if I ask:
    1. I see that the one I got is Made in China. Are all Olympus E420 currently in circulation made in China? I’m just really curious.

    2. Is there no camera memory to save my shots? (Yes,I did not include in my purchase the XD card)

    3. Can I change the pixels of my shots from 10 to 5?

    I got the camera last night and I’ve been trying to study it but really just don’t get the whole DSLR ‘interface’ yet. I’m a first timer. I don’t want to give up the Olympus E420 yet for Nikon D40 coz I want this small DSLR should I begin to race with my husband this spring.

  4. December 14, 2008 9:59 pm

    Cool pics. It’s fun to be able to do a little exploration, as it seems that you did. Can’t wait to see more of Taiwan here.

  5. December 14, 2008 10:00 pm

    Wow! I just noticed the header pic. Lots of Big Mamas waiting to come over on the boat, eh? Very cool!

  6. December 14, 2008 11:12 pm

    Yeah! That’s sweet… Lots of ’em. There are gonna’ be a lot of happy off-road cyclists very soon! I hope one of those has your name on it, Guitar Ted!!

    Fun exploration through your lens… Thanks good buddy!

    Cheers,
    MG

  7. Gnat permalink*
    December 15, 2008 6:45 am

    Olive, good day. Thanks for commenting on Gnat Blog.

    Congrats on your new E420. I love mine. Look for my 2000 shot review soon.

    In regards to your questions.

    1) Yes, made in China.
    2) No in camera storage. You need a card.
    3) Yes, you can change sizes easily. When the camera is on and you have a blank LCD on the back, follow these steps. Info button – OK button – Use the Arrow button to navigate to the large square at the bottom of the LCD. It should say either RAW, L Fine, L Normal, M Normal, S Normal or Raw +.
    4) Once you are on the square hit the OK button again and navigate that field. The user manual that came with the camera will have file size for each setting. I don’t have it handy. Sorry.

    Good luck. I hope you like your camera as much as I like mine.

  8. Olive permalink
    December 16, 2008 11:15 am

    Your reply is very helpful Gnat. Thank you! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

