Skip to content

One year ago

December 21, 2008

December 18th, 2007 I wrote about my declining health.   I had a back issue.  I had a weight issue.  I had a high cholesterol issue.   At the time, I was pretty bummed.   I think as people age, many of us go through a similar cycle.   I was healthy and active as a young kid.  I had always been able to eat whatever I wanted.  I never thought it could happen to me.  When it started to happen, I looked the other way.  “I’m not that out of shape.”  “I’ll eat better after this crazy month at work settles down.”   “I’ll start after the holidays.”   I could go on and on.   It was time to make a commitment to better health in 2008.

So how did it go?   Honestly, pretty darn good.   It’s wasn’t a perfect year, but it was pretty good.   Here is what I know.

1)  I’ve lost 20 lbs and kept it off.  I’ve lost as much as 25 lbs and right now I’m fluctuating between 18-20lbs lighter than one year ago.

2)  I participated in a sleep study for my sleep apnea.  I’ve improved, but it’s certainly not behind me.

3)  Just over 20 years ago, I crashed on my bike and knocked one of my front teeth out.  I’ve been getting by with a retainer.  I’ve even super glued it back together several times so I didn’t have to deal with it.  Well, I finally got permanent teeth put in this year.

4)  I’ve ridden more miles this year than in any of my previous 10.  In fact, I think I’m going into 2009 with a better base than when I was 29 going on 30.

So on paper, it looks pretty darn good.   I’ll be getting a blood test in January to see about my cholesterol.  So far, I’m thankful and happy.   But you know what?  I have learned something.  Even though I worked hard.  Even though I made a lot of positive change.   It is soooooo easy to fall back into old habits.

Since Interbike (End of September) I’ve fallen off.   I’ve slept poorly.   I’ve eaten really poorly.  I broke my new habits.  I stopped logging my miles and exercise in my log.  Work has been a bit stressful.  I’ve been traveling a lot.  I’ve put about 5lbs back on.  I need to get back on top of it.   It needs to start now.

So….Here’s to 2009.   Here’s to looking forward instead of backward.  I’ve got my eye on a couple of things.  Today, I’ll share my first goal of 2009; To Ride 200 Miles in 1 day!

How far does this road go?

How far does this road go?

Thanks to my family that supports me.  Here’s to my friends that have helped me.   It’s been a great year.  2009 is going to be even better!

Late Edit:

PS.  Check out GNATLIKESPICTURES.  I’ve got a new outlet for images that I can’t work into stories here.  Right now I’m doing a serious on Shots from the factory floor.   Enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    December 21, 2008 10:08 am

    Hope 2009 is even better. Man, I just love that road. Fargo ride for sure.

  2. December 21, 2008 3:20 pm

    Hey Jason — I have to hand it to you. I’m proud of you for the way you’ve pushed and overall, made forward progress. Yeah, so you’ve had a bit of regression since Interbike… You know what? I bet there are a lot of folks in the bicycle industry that can say the same exact thing.

    I know you and I believe in the strength of your commitment to achieving change, and taking the steps you need to in order to get to where you want and need to be… both for your health and for your happiness. You and I both know massive change doesn’t happen overnight, but the best you can do is just take it day-by-day, be empathetic with yourself and let each of us, as your friends and family, know how we can best help you.

    Here’s to a great two thousand eight. I hope 2009 is your best year yet, Jason. We’re gonna’ have some great Fargo rides, some killer Big Mama rides and I’m sure plenty of other fun shenanigans. I can’t wait…

    Cheers,
    MG

  3. December 21, 2008 3:24 pm

    BTW… On the 200 miles goal — CONGRATULATIONS! I’m pretty sure you’re gonna’ do that at the Dirty Kanza, which unfortunately I’m not going to be able to hit this year due to JP’s wedding the same day. But if that’s not the case, and you’re lookin’ to put a 200 miler together, let me know. I’ve got some options for ya’.

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend!
    MG

  4. December 21, 2008 6:29 pm

    Yeah, here’s to a great 2009. I’m betting that your going to be even sharper and more focused than ever this coming year.

    200 miles in a day? Sounds good. I’ve done close to 160 before in a day on a single speed. Gotta at least better that in 2009. Sounds like a plan!

  5. GreenLightGo permalink
    December 21, 2008 9:22 pm

    That’s a great goal. Congrats on a good 2008 – and best wishes for an even better 2009.

  6. December 22, 2008 10:27 am

    Congrats on realizing the need for change and the strength to see it through. 200 miles will happen. The big, red S on your chest (Salsa, of course) will see to that!

    grannygear

Leave a Reply

