Skip to content

Gnat’s year end post

December 31, 2008

It’s been a great year for me.  Thanks to my friends and family for reading and supporting me in all that I do.  At times I’ve been selfish.  I’m thankful for all of you and your support in 2008.  Thanks to the readers of Gnat blog too.  You’ve read my drivel and put up with me throughout 2008.   Thank you all.

I’ve learned a lot in 2008.     I’ve been inspired by a lot of people.  I’ve been challenged too.   As I move into 2009 I’ve got my sights set higher than ever.   I believe in the good even though at times I get caught up with or in the not so good.

A lot of my friends and bloggers are reviewing 2008.   I will be too.  Just not today.  Today I simply want to think about 2009.

For me, I hope 2009 brings peace, both internal and external.  The peace I am seeking for is contentment with my place, my choices and my stuff.   Recently, a fellow blogger sent me the book Everett Ruess – A Vagabond for Beauty.   I read about half of it on my recent trip to Taiwan.   On page 31, I found a quote that hit home for me.

“However, I have enough grub for a month and enough equipment to last indefinitely, so while I am alive, I intend to live.”

With that, I leave you with this image.  It inspires me.   It’s simple.  It’s reliable.  It’s powerful.  It’s functional.  It’s efficient.  It’s well used.  It’s not cutting edge.  It’s perfect.   The hat makes me think of the sun too.

Inspiration!

Inspiration!

Here’s to an amazing 2008.  Here’s to an even better 2009.

Ride your bike!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2008 6:06 pm

    Interesting quote. I would count myself in that camp, philosophically, although you wouldn’t think that judging from the looks of things, I’m certain of that!

    Thanks for the ride and I’m lookin’ forward to 2009 with a lot of excitement.

  2. January 1, 2009 4:23 pm

    Boy, that Everett Ruess book brings back memories. Such a great book. I just went looking for my copy, but alas, looks like a trip to the local book store is in order. I’d forgotten about him until reading your post. Thanks for refreshing my memory. Have you read Wallace Stegner and Ed Abbey?

  3. January 1, 2009 8:07 pm

    GNAT,

    Glad you enjoyed the book. I knew you would. Good luck to you and your family in 2009, and thanks for all your support and good vibes.

    Jason

Leave a Reply

