Skip to content

The Road to 40 – My inspiration for 2009

January 1, 2009

My last post was about inspiration and I featured a bike I saw in a Taiwan factory.  The bike I shared really is an inspiration to me.   Take a look at my version of the bike I saw in Taiwan.

My version of the well used bike!

My version of a well used bike!

This bike doesn’t have the same wear and tear on it as the bike I photo’d in Taiwan.  However, I believe someday it will.  You see, this bike is going to take me places.  It’s already got a good start in 2008, but I suspect 2009 this bike will take me even further.

Back in October I posted on my 39th birthday that the road to 40 would be something special.   I wanted to hit 40 with the same zest for life that I hit 30.    In 2008, my wife inspired me as she and several of her friends did a triathlon in Colorado for their 40th birthday.

In my head, I had this crazy idea that I would start and promote this concept of taking 4 weeks of personal time when I turned 40.  In my head, I would take a month off and do a longish tour….But this isn’t really possible and is terribly selfish.   As such, I have changed my plans to make sure that I take 4 weeks that are truly about experiencing life to the fullest.  Some of this time will be personal but I suspect quite a bit of it will be with family and friends.   Just like the quote from my last post, “I intend to live!”

Over the course of January 2009, I’ll be laying out my plans for the year.  Who knows, maybe 4 weeks will turn into more.  Who knows, maybe it will inspire some other people “to live” with me.   I can’t wait.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 2:17 pm

    Nice… That photo rocks! And while I hate to hear that your decadent 4 week trip in your 40th year idea may be going by the wayside, I like the thought of possibly being able to share in your adventure/celebration. I’m looking forward to learning more about what you’re thinking, my brother. I envision some inspired journeys to come…

    Happy New Year! I’m looking forward to a year filled with adventure.

    Cheers,
    MG

  2. January 1, 2009 8:12 pm

    I have no doubt that you will still squeeze a lot of adventure into your revised 4 weeks. Adventure and reward can come in lots of different ways. Extended weeks of adventure or 2 hours in the local park’s single track. It’s there for folks. But not everyone takes advantage of it. Good luck, anxious to hear your plans.

    J

  3. January 2, 2009 7:40 am

    My 8 year old daughter, Izabel looked at today’s picture. She didn’t think the hat was notable. She pointed right at the frame bag. I asked her what she thought about it. She said, “What is that there for, Daddy?” I said, “He puts stuff inside that bag so he can carry it with him.” She said, “It’s sort of like an adventure bicycle.”

    Yep. Sure is!

    I hope you see and feel some wonderful stuff aboard your “adventure bicycle”.

  4. January 7, 2009 8:55 pm

    4 weeks will be plenty for the Simpson Desert Bike Challenge Jason. http://www.sdcc.org.au/

    See you there.

    Elvis.

Leave a Reply

