Skip to content

Photo Friday

January 8, 2009

This is one of my favorite images from my recent trip to Taiwan.  This image isn’t my favorite because of image quality.  No, it’s one of my favorite because its a glimpse of what transportation can or could be.   Look at all those scooters.

Can you help me find my scooter?

Can you help me find my scooter?

Also, since I’ve been really lame this winter regarding riding my blog content has suffered.  Thankfully, I looked back over my pictures and I found a bike product picture to talk about.

Got enough fender clearance?

Got enough fender clearance?

So….I’ve been lame about riding in the cold & snow.  What’s this picture got to do with that?  Well, sometimes I need my bike to motivate me to ride.   The bad news is that I still haven’t finished my winter La Cruz project.   Besides my lack of motivation and busy schedule, it’s been to darn cold to actually finish my bike build out in my work shop.  This picture makes me think about fender clearance.

Fenders are critical in the winter, especially when riding with others.   I’m talking full coverage fenders.   Last year I suffered through the wet and sloppy winter without fenders.   I usually ended up riding at the back of the Friday morning group so I didn’t cover my friends in slop.  To top if off, at the end of the workday, I got to put on cold wet tights.  Yuck!

Friday morning means the Friday morning ride.   It’s my favorite day of the week.   It’s supposed to snow all day.  That means when I’m riding my Fargo in the salt and slush, I’ll be thinking about how I wish I had my crap together to finish my winter riding project.     I’ll be riding at the back with my big fat 29er tires throwing wet, salty, snowy sludge everywhere.

At least I’ll be riding.

Have a great weekend.   Ride your bike.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 10:38 pm

    “At least I’ll be riding”

    And that, my friend, is the key. The rest is just fluff that can be dealt with. Yeah, so you have to ride in the back. Since you are mostly out front the rest of the year, I see it as a bit of cycling levity. 😉

    Only kidding a little bit, you really are that fast, although you will deny it to the end.

    Anyway, those scooters! Man! That’s a crazy amount of air cooled madness right there.

  2. January 9, 2009 10:37 am

    …and when they fire up, it’s like a hornets nest of Chris King hubs being let loose!

    What is the reach on that brake! For converting 29 to 24 😉

Leave a Reply

