Skip to content

Shrimp anyone?

January 11, 2009

I’ve been wanting to play around with video for a long time. I just have not had the time. I couldn’t sleep this morning so I thought I’d take those extra hours to play around and get everything set up so I could do video here on the Gnat blog.

The video I posted below showcases course # 9 at dinner party I attended while visiting Taiwan in December 2008. The party was for a grand opening of a bicycle assembly factory. It was a bit unique, at least for me, because this was my first “party” where we cooked a fair amount of live food at our table. Check out the menu. I may have gotten the actual names of the courses wrong, this is just what I wrote down and understood from the translations.

1 – Boiled whole chicken soup
2 – Fried fish with soy & ginger
3 – Assorted meat & fish plate – with lots of mayonnaise
4 – Giant bone fish
5 – Whole Fried Fish
6 – BBQ chop (not sure what kind of chop)
7 – Shark fin soup
8 – Live rock fish (cooked at table)

9 – Live  jumbo shrimp (cooked at table)

10 – Giant Crab

11 – Sweet soup
12 – Fruit

So, with that check out course #9 before cooking.

Anyway, this video is just a test. Who knows what might come of video on the Gnat blog?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2009 4:35 pm

    That video gives me pause for the next time shrimp comes up on my menu. Yikes!

    And was it really that loud there? My goodness!

  2. Gnat permalink*
    January 11, 2009 6:43 pm

    GT – It gave me pause too, but it was good. I only wish I would have shot a longer video. The live rock fish (Sea Urchin) were actually creepier to me.

    The music was real, non edited. We were right by the loudspeaker.

Leave a Reply

