Skip to content

The Road to 40 years old – The long road

January 14, 2009

As I ponder what this year will bring, I can’t help but think about where this road will take me?   I posted earlier this week that DK 200 was not in the plans for me.  Oh well, that means something else IS in store for me.   Right now, I’m looking for that long road.

The long road

The long road

I don’t know where that road takes me?   I’ve said that I want to do 200 miles, but I also want a destination adventure trip.  I’m looking for an adventure where I can include my family (and possibly some friends) on some part of this and incorporate some considerable & challenging time for riding & pondering the world’s problems.   Right now, here are some of the possible larger destinations and challenges. This list doesn’t necessarily include my 200 miles in a day goal because I can knock that out close to home if I need too.

1 – If the company I works for goes to the Fruita Fat Tire fest, one idea I have is going out a two or three days early and riding to Moab and back on the Kokepelli.  That’s 262 miles of trail before the Fruita Fat Tire fest which would include some riding every day.    I could do it a couple of ways and mix road and dirt in.  Mikesee suggested I do a combo of trail, gravel and pavement on the way to Moab and then take Kokepelli all the way back to Fruita.

2 – June 21st ride – White Rim in one day.  Take the longest day of the year and do an 100+ mile epic in Moab area and Canyonlands.  Follow this up with some riding.  Might be a fun destination for meeting some friends too.

3 – Colorado Trail Race – 500+ miles and 60,000 feet of climbing.  Enough said.

4 – Gravel, jeep road & pavement tour from Estes Park, CO or Steamboat, CO to Fruita, CO.  Finish it up with some serious off road riding in Fruita with Mikesee.

5 – North Dakota – Create an epic gravel adventure in North Dakota.  This area is untouched and filled with possibility.  Last summers 100 miles of gravel simply wet my appetite for something more.

6 – Guanaride endurance race in Costa Rica – 5 days in late June.  I just read about this yesterday in a Euro mag, roughly 425 KM and 4300 meters of climbing.  Maybe I’m just enamored with the thought of heat right now as it’s cold as all get out, but this sounds like an amazing event.

I’m still searching for what’s around that next corner?  I’ll need to commit soon.

What sights will I see?

What sights will I see?

How about you?  Where is your road leading you?  What road will you take?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:12 am

    Sounds like you have all sorts of good chances of getting in your 200 in 2009. I have big plans too. Racing again after a long break. My plan is to compete in the IMBCS, Iowa Mountain Bike Cahmpionship Series, races in 2009. I am hoping to race 10 races this year. They will hopefull be aboard the Selma. My cousin is going to do them with me on a single speed as well. We plan do make most of the races be a family campout too so it doesn’t seem like we are away so much by ourselves.

    Have a great year and hope to ride again with you soon.
    Captain

  2. January 14, 2009 4:03 pm

    You know, those are all excellent goals. I bet that North Dakota deal will be very close to the top of your list. That is, if the snow ever melts up there!

    It’ll be fun to see what you choose.

    And as far as DK 200, I’ll be there with the Fargo representin’! I wish you would be there too, of course, but I understand why you won’t be there.

  3. January 14, 2009 6:46 pm

    The Colorado Trail race sounds the best to me on paper. The altitude would be killer but the adventure and the sights would be friggin’ amazing! Next I’d have to say the Kokepelli sound amazing. Ah, who am I kidding, they ALL sound amazing! Good luck.

    I wish we had the endless gravel/back roads that the mid west and plains have. We have them but most are a good distance away and I lack the local knowledge.

    I’m 99% sure I will be making a life change here in few weeks. Scared, but at the same time excited to find where I want my life to take me. Should be interesting, that’s for sure. And that is what life is all about. Right? 🙂

    Have fun with your planning.

    Jason

  4. Gnat permalink*
    January 14, 2009 8:06 pm

    Thanks Guys. Good goals. Jason, I read your blog and sent you an email. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    The Colorado Trail Race sounds like an amazing adventure, a daunting event, and the one event I listed where I’m not actually sure I can do it. It’s 530 miles unsupported over 5-7 days. Ouch. However, it is also the event that has the most challenge and intrigue. The good news on that one is that its in August and give me ample time to train properly, potentially get a few training over nighters to work out my gear choices. My big question for that one is the gear and what bike? I’ve got my Fargo pretty dialed for some extended trips, but I’d likely need to do that one on a different bike……

    We’ll see. I’m 20lbs lighter coming into this year and way ahead of where I was one year ago. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

