Skip to content

A brief stop. A new challenge.

January 25, 2009

For those reading the Gnat Blog for a bit, you all probably know that I love the Friday Morning Breakfast Ride (FMBR).   Last Friday was no different.  When I left the house at 5:30AM, it was 18 degrees.  We met up at Colossal, there were 8 of us.   Only two of us were prepared for the MN River Bottom Trail so we headed south on our own.  They missed out on an incredible morning.

I mentioned a week or so ago that there were a couple of spots along the trail that I really wanted to stop and take a few pictures.  Friday was the day.   So often, my pictures of riding are taken when I’m out riding alone somewhere.   There is often a bike, some shape, mood, texture or scene in my pictures that I attempt to capture.   I’m occasionally successful and rarely do my pictures actually involve a rider.  Not so this Friday.  The shots I had in mind needed a moving rider.

For me, taking pictures of a moving rider was a new challenge.   I’m still a beginner in the world of photography.   That said, I think I did OK.  I set my camera shutter speed, set my white balance and set my focus mode.

Now that is a big tree!

Now that is a big tree!

This shot is zoomed in pretty heavily and has lost it’s sharpness.   I wish we could have gotten to this spot just 15 minutes earlier.   The sun was just a bit too high in the sky.  If you look closely you can still see the orangish glow from the sun on the snow.

This was our last stop for photos and Joe and I finished up and got to work after several miles on the road and roughly 10 miles of snow packed single track.  I also got to experiment a bit and justified carrying my camera.    What a perfect morning.

If you’ve got a photo in mind that you just haven’t had the time to stop and capture, take a moment on your next ride.   It just might make your ride perfect.

Oh…And I’m starting something new.   Lots of bloggers are doing the what’s playing at the end of their posts.   I’m starting What’s in the Glass?

(What’s in the Glass?  Sierra Nevada – 12th Release Harvest Wet Hop Ale)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 7:59 am

    Well, regardless of the nits you point out, this photo is really cool. I remember ome of those gigantic trees out there and it is fun to see a rider in relationship to one of them.

    You guys are blessed to be able to ride that trail yet. There is no way we’re getting out in the woods around here on anything but skis…….which isn’t all bad, but it isn’t cycling!

  2. January 26, 2009 9:57 am

    I have to concur with Mark. You’re being pretty tough on yourself. That’s a cool shot to my non-photographer eyes. But that said, I understand what you’re saying about the detail and such… THAT said, Joe looks awfully cool threading around that big ‘ol tree.

    We’ve been able to stay bike-mounted so far, but that may end soon, as we’re forecast to get several days of snow coming up here in the next few days. We’ll see if it materializes… You know I’ll keep pedaling absolutely as long as I can before I make the switch.

    Keep it up!

    Cheers,
    MG

  3. captain bob permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:30 pm

    I agree. great shot. Heck, orange snow is as bad for you as yellow snow.

Leave a Reply

