Skip to content

It’s 40…It’s 41…It’s 42 degrees!

January 31, 2009

For the first time in 2009 it is above freezing!   I can’t believe how good 42 degrees feels.  The sun is out.  I took a layer off.  I wore lighter weight gloves.  I didn’t need my neck gator.    I didn’t put the extra wool knee warmers under my tights.   My legs felt free.  I felt 20 lbs lighter.  I actually felt warm.   I got to use my 48×12 today on one stretch of dry paved road.  It’s about time.  Amazing.

I didn’t take my camera with me.  There is a spot on this route where I’ve got an idea for a picture, but today I wanted to feel the warmth with as little extra stuff as possible.

The roads were a little sloppy.  That said, they were A LOT better than I expected.   Sweet.

Plenty of space down there.

Plenty of space down there.

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend.  I even know a few readers are racing this weekend.  Yeah, I said racing on the Gnat Blog in January.   I don’t race and the thought of racing in January is even funnier than the thought of me racing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 7:31 pm

    I have to smile. You know, it’s hard to fathom our excitement if you aren’t part of the misery that preceded today. What a glorious day indeed!

    Unfortunately my day wasn’t on a bike, but fortunately I spent it with my two great kids while Phyllis went to a conference.

    Even though tomorrow will be cooler, I’ll enjoy it just as much, I’m sure. 🙂

  2. February 2, 2009 11:06 am

    Great to hear you guys had an awesome weather weekend too. I was able to get out for a combined 130 miles between the two days, so it was a good “in the saddle” weekend down here as well, and for that I’m awfully thankful. Because as Guitar Ted mentioned, it was a miserable week prior to that…

    And now, back to the grind. Oh well, I’m rested, or rather flogged, and ready.

    Cheers,
    MG

Leave a Reply

