Skip to content

The light post

February 12, 2009

In my ongoing experiment with low light and high ISO’s, I present the following picture.   I was riding along and almost out of now where there was this lamp post.   It was sort of crazy as I was riding in almost complete darkness and it places that probably should have had light for safety reasons.  It’s presence really stood out and I took the opportunity to snap some pics.

I see the light

I see the lightISO 1600 - F2.8 - Hand held - No flash

Both the color and the black and white shots are pretty cool.   I can’t wait until the next snowfall.  I plan to go back to this location and take some more photo’s.  I’ve got another angle here that I think would be really good with fresh snow.  It would also be fun to add falling snow to the texture of this scene.   Next time I guess.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 12:57 pm

    Any fauns or white witches on that ride?

  2. captain bob permalink
    February 12, 2009 5:11 pm

    That’s it Gnat. Great lighting. Next time you try this shot try putting the bottom of the frame closer to the bottom of the tires and keep more space above the light. Just a thought. It would look like an entirely differnent scene.

    Great shot. What was the shutter speed?

  3. Gnat permalink*
    February 13, 2009 7:23 am

    No fauns or white witches. I almost hit a few dogs and walkers on the dark trail as I only had a small blinky light though.

    CB, shutter speed was 1/10. That Monopod you just sent me would have really helped.

Leave a Reply

