Skip to content

Valentine’s Day Ride

February 15, 2009

Two great days of riding in a row.   I can’t remember that last time I said that.   It was about 10 degrees colder today, 15 degrees when I left, and the wind was biting today.   I was out a couple of hours and took a little extra time to explore.  I’ve always wanted to take a few of the side roads that I see from my normal route.    Yesterday was the day.

Holy Cow that's Ice!

Holy Cow that's Ice!

The melting snow turned into ice.   It wasn’t a problem except the one time I stood up to crest a hill.  My rear wheel starting going left to right.  I sat back down and just pedalled smooth circles.

It sure was fun exploring the side roads.   It’s crazy how many times I’d ridden by some of these roads.   I found a pretty cool strip of gravel that I plan to add to my regular loop.   I highly recommend doing a little exploring on your next ride.  Who knows what you’ll find?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    February 15, 2009 12:54 pm

    That looks like a comfy bar set-up. Nice and flat where it meets the hoods.

    Is riding on the ice covered roads easier with the stable Fargo vs and steeper angled bike?

  2. Gnat permalink*
    February 15, 2009 4:42 pm

    The Fargo is rock stable on any surface. I love it. I’ve also got my Bell Laps rotated so the tops are flat and transition right into the SRAM levers.

Leave a Reply

