Skip to content

Dead red and ol’ blue

February 17, 2009

Having grown up in Northwest MN on a family farm, I find myself oddly attracted to old farmsteads.   I often look at farms,  old and new, and think about the folks that live there and the life that farming provides.   Farming is inside of me and really taught me how to work hard and take what nature and God gives you.  I forget that stuff too often but thankfully if I look, I often am reminded of life on the farm.   Today, I’ll share a few old farm structures I saw on my last couple of rides.

Old red barn

Old dead red

I stopped and walked a few steps up the driveway to snap this pic.  I stopped because despite the condition of this barn, I think the owners are still living on the farm.    Someday, I’ll see the owners out getting the mail or something and I’ll stop to ask them if I can take their picture and look inside.   There is a tree on this property I’d love to shoot as well.  When I look at this barn and the direction of the sunrise,  I’d love to see this barn with the early morning sun shining through it.  I’d also love to have a nice wide angle lens to capture all of it.   This one looks really good in black in white too.

Something blue

Ol' blue

This particular farm shed stood out and really struck me.   I can’t really recall when or if I’ve ever seen an old farm structure with a blue roof?   The blue really stood out in the  brown and white landscape.  The blue also made me think of Captain Bob and his obsession with Selma.

The more I see, the more I want to explore.  The more I explore, the more I want ride.  The more I  ride, the more I want to snap pictures.  It’s a great cycle.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    February 17, 2009 5:35 am

    Very cool. Love the blue roof. Never seen one that color either.

    I REALLY love barns too. Around here they are a dying breed.

  2. February 17, 2009 10:15 am

    Gnat, very cool old barn, reminds me of growing up in central Nebraska as a kid & some friends & I would pedal our Apollo Racers & later my Raleigh BMX bike all over the country to explore old digs like that as well as abandoned houses. Unfortunately most have succumbed to a dozer to make room for a pivot & more cropland. I’ve started to capture a few around here & post on my blog but next time I get home to see the folks I need to see if any of those old places are still left.

    Ironically one of the coolest old barns I’ve seen in years is about a 5 mile bike ride from my home & a stone’s throw off I-80, it’s an old Montgomery Ward catalog barn is what I’m told by the locals & it’s still in very good shape, appearance wise, I’ll have to get out there to shoot it, though I must admit my photography leaves much to be desired!

    As far as the Salsa Fargo, IT’S MY NEXT BIKE! Someday!

  3. February 17, 2009 7:12 pm

    Yes, barns! I spent many a weekend with my cousins up in the haymound. (haymount?) Anyway, I do recall several barns that are no longer around. Too bad too.

    Anyway, it was great to chat with you today and I look forward to seeing more of your adventures here.

Leave a Reply

