Skip to content

Long Shadows and warm memories

February 18, 2009

Today I spent a few minutes cleaning out my personal pictures from my work computer.   I try not to put my personal pictures on my work computer, but sometimes I am actually doing work with them and other times I only travel with my work computer.

A few of the pictures struck me and sent me back to the moment that each were taken.     Today, I’ll share a couple.

Long shadows make for even bigger wheels

Long shadows make for even bigger wheels

I took this picture while at Interbike this past September.   Joe Meiser and I were riding Fargo’s out to the On Dirt Demo.  It was the first time in over 10 years of Interbike that I got to ride my bike.   It was refreshing and one of the best memories I have from any trade show.

Grand Junction with Mikesee - Fall 2007

Grand Junction with Mikesee - Fall 2007

Photo Credit:  Mike Curiak

I spent 3 days riding in Fruita and Grand Junction.  I was testing a prototype Big Mama.  I was 25 lbs heavier than I am today and A LOT less fit.  Mike turned the screws a bit all while not even working up a sweat.   Not long after this picture was taken, I remember Mike slowing down a bit to share some words with me.   He poetically shared with me the following words.  “I just want to warn you.  When you turn the next corner and start climbing, it might be a bit demoralizing.”   I had no idea I would be climbing in my granny ring for the next 45 minutes.   Ouch.   When we got to the top, he said that “most people shuttle this run”.   Yeah, I see why.  Given my fitness, it was crushing.  I was worked.  By the end of my ride, my legs were shaking and my calves were cramping.   I hope to go back and ride these trails again.   Hopefully I can ride them again with Mike.

Both of these images bring back different memories.  In my brain, I’ve attached some specific people, certain feelings and time stamps to each of these.  They mean very different things to me.   However, both are clearly about riding.  Both are about warm weather.  Both are about riding in the desert.

Man I love riding my bicycle.  I can’t wait to ride in the warm weather again.    I can’t wait to ride in the dry warm desert again.   I can’t wait to make more riding memories.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 6:07 am

    Great pics today. I have to agree with you. The desert is a great place to ride a mountain bike. I miss it.

  2. captain bob permalink
    February 18, 2009 7:02 am

    Great reading today Gnat. Love the 36er Fargo pic too.

Leave a Reply

