Skip to content

photo friday – the sloppy slog

February 27, 2009

We had 2 days in a row this week where the temps went above 32 degrees and I managed to get out for a long ride on one of them.  I went exploring again and found another 5 miles of wet and sloppy gravel.   I think I can link these new gravel sections with the other gravel I found a couple of weeks ago.   I know its not like riding gravel down in Iowa, southern MN, or back in North Dakota, but its still gravel and it beats riding the road with all those cars.  Besides, my normal winter 20 mile paved loop now has about 8 additional miles of gravel.  Sweet!

I was a lone soldier on these roads

I was a lone soldier on these roads

I rode my La Cruz today for the first time in several months.   I finally got my Shimano 105 stuff removed and replaced with a 1st generation SRAM Rival group.   While the La Cruz is not as comfy as my Fargo, its quit a bit more responsive to pedal input.   The La Cruz worked great today and it was fun to be on a different bike.

I finished the day a bit cold as I was pretty wet from road spray and the temp maxed out at 39 degrees.   I was also very, very tired as roads like this require a lot of torque.  There is little spinning on road like this.

Enjoy your weekend.  Ride your bike!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    February 27, 2009 5:25 am

    That looks really soggy. Cool pic.

  2. February 27, 2009 7:31 am

    Yeah, nice pic Gnat. Without the snow I would say it looks eerily like T.I.V2!

    Have you ridden that bit of gravel south of Murphy-Hanrahan? That looks like a good bit of gravel there.

Leave a Reply

