Skip to content

Dedication

March 2, 2009

Dedication.   It’s a powerful word.   For some it strikes fear.   For others it brings peace.   For others it brings back memories.   For me, it means being out doing stuff while others are not.    It means riding outside in the cold.   It means trying to do things that challenge me.    This past weekend up in Duluth, MN, I found out it means something else…..Freezing your fingers.

It was a cold morning

It was a cold morning

Both mornings I got up at 6:30 AM to photograph the sunrise.   Both mornings it was close to -10 before factoring in wind chill.   I’ve spent a lot of time in the cold, but usually I’m doing some kind of activity.   Activity brings heat to your body.   Taking pictures does not.   As I stood there waiting in that perfect spot for the sun to rise to that perfect spot on the horizon, I was freezing.   Also factor in that you are touching a camera body.  Occasionally, you also need to remove your gloves so you can change your camera settings.   I don’t think my fingers have ever been that cold.

Did I mention it was cold?!

Did I mention it was cold?!

I wasn’t the only photographer at this spot.  In fact, there were 3 others.   I was both shocked and amazed that others were out.   Usually when I’m out doing something sort of stupid, I’m the only one.   I guess I wasn’t the only one that wanted to capture the sunrise at this particular spot.    That said, I was proud to be the only photographer out walking around on the huge ice mounds.  I was crawling in tiny ice caves.   I was the only one without a heated car.   I spent about 45 minutes moving around until I got the perfect shot…..Which I’ll share this Friday for Photo Friday.  It just might be the best image I have ever taken.   Until then….Here is a sneak peek.

The sun should be peeking out any moment

The sun should be peeking out any moment

So today is about dedication and challenging yourself.   You might suffer a bit.   It’s worth it.

One other note about dedication.  This week on the Gnat Blog is dedicated mostly to pictures and photography.   Thursday will have a nice throw back moment.   The rest of the week,   I’ll be sharing photo’s from my trip up north.  I’ll likely have a bit of PMA trade show coverage too.    It’s the annual photography trade show and I’m eagerly waiting to see what Olympus brings to the market this year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 12:24 pm

    Brrr. The lock pic is very cool, but the lighthouse looks absolutely cold.

  2. March 2, 2009 4:09 pm

    I like the light house pic. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

