Skip to content

Photo Friday – Fire + Ice = ?

March 6, 2009

Today I share with you one of my favorite images I’ve ever taken.   Whenever I have a feeling like that I wonder why I think that?   Sometimes it’s because of the experience.  Sometimes it’s because it’s true.  Sometimes it’s because I’m seeing or feeling a progression.

canal-park-lighthouse-close-up-low-res

This picture represents all of those things to me.   When I see this picture, I will always remember the weekend away with my wife.  I will always remember freezing as the temp was -10 before wind chill.    I will always remember seeing the other photographers out that morning trying to capture that perfect image of the sunrise.   I will always remember comparing photos with the other photographers and hearing “Oh My!” when they saw this one.

I used my Olympus E420 DSLR.   I was shooting hand held at ISO 100.   I keep seeing search engine referrals with “E420 in low light” and I think this shows folks that good images in low light are possible with the E420.   Overall, I’m very pleased and proof that you can get really good images from a camera that doesn’t cost that much (compared to other DSLRs).

Hope you like the image too.   If you want to see a larger image, click here as I loaded it on my GnatLikesPictures blog.

Enjoy your weekend.  Ride your bike!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:30 am

    I will agree Gnat. Best one I have seen here. Perfect exposure!

    It is now the wallpaper on my monitor. Thanks!

  2. March 6, 2009 6:08 am

    AMAZING!

  3. March 6, 2009 7:06 am

    Yep………that’s a good one right there. I like that a lot. Thanks for the efforts to bring that to us, Gnat!

Trackbacks

  1. Photo Friday « Gnat Likes Bikes

Leave a Reply

