Skip to content

My flat bar off road adventuring fargo

March 16, 2009

After 2 days of on and off again bike work, I got my flat bar off road adventuring Fargo almost finished.   Take a look.

Flat bar or drop bar?

Flat bar or drop bar?

My experimentation and obsession with the Salsa Fargo continues.   I’ve been inspired by a few other’s flat bar set ups.   I’ve also struggled to make my flat bar La Cruz fit me and fit my intended use.   So….I thought I’d give a FB Fargo a try.

I’ve still got some set up issues to work through.   The build shown here isn’t final and I’ve also got a bunch of stuff to mount to the bike before I share the complete spec and intended use of this build.  I can say it fits really well and rides great.  I just need to work through some final details before the full monty.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:56 pm

    Looks like fun. What’s that holding onto the handlebar? Can’t wait to see more of that component. Will it come in a zero rise?

  2. Gnat permalink*
    March 16, 2009 7:03 pm

    CB, the fence post isn’t exactly holding the stem. 😉

    Look for details on the work blog. I will say it is a darn nice product.

  3. March 16, 2009 7:21 pm

    Got some proper sized Race Kings on there too? Lookin’ nice as a flat bar bike.

  4. Scott_in_Austin permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:04 pm

    Cool lookin’ Gnat. What size frame did you start with for this one?

  5. Gnat permalink*
    March 16, 2009 8:37 pm

    Proper? You mean a 1.75 with mis marked side walls. These are prototypes not real production.

  6. Gnat permalink*
    March 16, 2009 8:38 pm

    Large. You’ll see all the details soon.

  7. April 3, 2009 9:43 am

    Yeah, I can’t wait to get my hands on one of those stems myself…

Leave a Reply

