Skip to content

The road to 40 – Commitment

March 17, 2009

I’ve been a bit quiet about the coming months.   I’ve had something in the back of my mind for some time, that being riding across Colorado on my Salsa Fargo.    I wanted to ride from Estes Park to Steamboat then turn south and ride all the way to Fruita on back country jeep roads and single track.

However, somewhere a long the way I got the bug to do the Colorado Trail.    The bike route is roughly 530 miles with 60,000 feet of climbing.  It’s more single track than jeep road.   It’s a bigger challenge with more risk and more reward.

I've set my sights on Colorado

I've set my sights on Colorado

So now it’s time to commit.   Right now it’s Colorado Trail.

August 2 to ?????

I plan to ride 50-90 miles a day depending on the section, conditions, weather, food/water stops and general physical feel.   At 70 miles per day, I’d finish in 8 days.  Looking at it that way, I’m guessing closer to 10 days.   Who knows really, but I know my motor can turn out mile after mile if going below a “race pace”.

I plan to start with the Colorado Trail Race (CTR) folks.   I don’t plan to actually race, but I want to be out there when other people are out there.  I will be riding my own pace and will be carrying more stuff than the racers.   Heck, I’ve seen what some of those guys and gals raced with last year and I do trail rides 2.5 miles from my house with more gear than they used.    Safety is important and I’ve learned on other adventures that I will always have shelter, a dry sleeping bag and a dry set of warm clothes.

Now…I’m frantically putting gear together.   My big decision is which bike to ride, because it will dictate some of my gear choices.  All I know is that it will have 29″ wheels and will say Salsa on the side of it.

You know I love gear.  I can’t wait to start mounting, testing, refining, etc.   I also look forward to the long hours in the saddle.

And so it begins……

6 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:08 am

    I am proud of you for making such a committment. Very cool! Good luck. I am anxious to follow you though the journey.

  2. March 17, 2009 6:36 am

    I envy you, Gnat. That sounds like a great way to spend the first part of August to me! I also look forward to your choices and run up to this big trip.

  3. March 17, 2009 10:50 am

    Outstanding!! Sounds PERFECT!

  4. March 17, 2009 12:02 pm

    Sounds like a GREAT adventure, wish I could pull something like this off, I missed 40 so maybe for my big 50, if you need a place to crash on the way out or back in western Nebraska give me a shout.

  5. March 17, 2009 12:15 pm

    Wow. A lofty goal, indeed. Go get it!

    grannygear

  6. martini permalink
    March 17, 2009 4:51 pm

    niiiiiccee!

    //chalk me up for being a slight bit jealous too. Should prove to be a fantastic trip. Something to reset the brain as it were.

Leave a Reply

