Skip to content

Throwback Thursday – JR Ranch

March 19, 2009

Here’s another good one from my younger racing days.

Nothing but style!

Nothing but style!

Take note of the following sweet old stuff.

Lace up Sidi Shoes

Otis Guy Softride Beam Bike with suspension stem

Conti 1.5 tires

XTR M900 group

Old Bontrager long sleeve jersey

This was back in the day when I was racing expert.   It was out in Hudson at a shooting range on private land, the JR Ranch.   I had a crap race this day.   I was brought up racing with the “thin to win” mentality of tires.  I chose thin and light on this day and I paid for it.  The ground was too soft and my tires just sunk into the ground.  I felt like I was riding in glue.

By the time this picture was taken, I was laughing and talking to people because I was suffering so much and so far out of placing.    Still had fun though.  Riding bikes is fun!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    March 19, 2009 4:50 am

    I LOVE that Jersey!!

  2. Gnat permalink*
    March 19, 2009 5:18 am

    Thanks CB. I’ve still got it. I’ve got a short sleeve version and also a yellow version (yellow where the green is in the photo). I love the old Bontrager days.

  3. Marty permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:04 am

    I remember racing there on a similar day. Had a total blast. Hell, may have even been the same day…

  4. Johnny permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:11 pm

    Beam bike? I thought I knew you. I thought thought you had dignity.
    Just kidding Jason. mostly.

  5. March 20, 2009 3:06 am

    Nice shot which illustrates your memories so well.

Leave a Reply

