Skip to content

Choices

March 21, 2009

We had another great Friday Morning Breakfast Ride.  I had an important meeting at work, so our group split up.   It was a glorious morning.

Reflecting back and looking at pictures from yesterday’s morning ride made me realize how much my choices in the last few years have brought me health and happiness.   Just over two years ago, my commute looked like this.

My old commute looked like this.

My old commute looked like this.

About 2 and half years ago, my wife and I made some choices and moved….Now I can ride my bike to work on a regular basis.   We also got involved in a start up church with friends…Now those friends feel more like family.   Just over a year ago, I made a commitment to get my health back in line and ride my bike more….Now I’m feeling healthy and stronger and hopefully will live longer.

Looking back, I never thought my life was bad in any way.  I just never knew how good it could be.  I never knew how choices, big & small, really could change my life.   Now I look at choices as much more powerful filled with potential.   For me that statement sometimes means I add stress to my decisions.  But you know what?   Bike riding gets rid of all that stress.    So….Maybe we all should go for a bike ride and think about what is around that next corner?

What's around that next corner?

What's around that next corner?

My post today is a bit heavier than normal.  It’s on my heart as friends make important decisions.   Some are starting new ventures.  Some have lost their jobs.  Others are fighting personal battles.

Today, I’m so thankful for my family, my friends, and the feeling I get when I ride my bike.

Enjoy your weekend.  Ride your bike!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 1:37 pm

    AMEN to that, you’ve summed up a lot of what’s going on in my life right now as well, I’m getting ready to make some BIG changes in my life & hope it’s better for all who will be involved, especially my family & my bike riding schedule as that comes second only to my family! It’s the best way I’ve found for detoxing & beating stress by far & it’s one of my best addiction’s I’ve ever had, I think I’ve been tobacco free now for nearly 6 years & I KNOW riding bike helped kick that habit.

  2. March 21, 2009 6:37 pm

    Nice post. I have found there is NOTHING like a bike ride for thinking, contemplating and meditation. A lot of folks I know listen to music while riding. That never really occurs to me, unless I’m doing something uber boring like riding the rail trail or trainer. Rides are MY time. My time to think about where I’ve been, where I am, and where I want to go.

    Cheers to “the ride” and all it gives us.

    J

  3. chumbox permalink
    March 22, 2009 4:18 am

    Every word of todays blog rang truer to me than most blogs I ever read. I am at the crossroads and working out how to spend more time with more family and increasing my quality of life (including ride time) but some big choices such as job shift are required to do so. Recently family gave me the best present ever of a child carrier so now my daughter can go almost everywhere I ride, it’s a precious and thoughtful gift. It has made me think more about other choices I can make to increase the quality time I have with all my family. Thanks for the amazing post today, thanks to the others who commented.

    Cannot wait to purchase my Fargo at the end of 2009, the wait will be worth it… then I can ride many more quality of life adventures, (I’m assuming they will be producing a 2010 model).

  4. Gnat permalink*
    March 22, 2009 6:29 am

    Thanks for the kind words folks.

    Paxtoncoyote – I’m with you and good luck in your changes. I’m sure the riding has helped kick that habit.

    Jason – You are one of the folks I’ve been thinking about. I can’t wait to see XXC.

    Chumbox – good luck with your decisions. Wait until your daughter is riding her own bike and tells everyone she is faster than you!

    Thanks again folks. Enjoy your Sunday.

Leave a Reply

