Skip to content

Is this spring?

March 26, 2009

It started out just like many of my rides.

Doesn't look too bad does it?

Doesn't look too bad does it?

It was a bit cool.  It was windy (check out the flag in the pic).   It was wet, but I thought I could make it to work before it really let loose.   I was expecting to ride home in the rain.   However, after I set out, it quickly became clear that it was going to be a tough ride.

I ended up doing the Edina route.  I wanted a few extra miles and I like the rolling hills.   The rain quickly turned to ice and I was being pounded by millions of little pellets.

When I got to work 20 or so miles later, I was soaking wet and quite cold.   My bike was covered in ice. Even the crank arms were covered in ice.

Ice and road grime!

Ice and road grime!

I didn’t really care….Other than putting some wet and cold riding gear on to ride home.   Still beats driving.

In other news, as a result of yesterday;s post and an interesting email exchange, I dug a little deeper looking at Osprey.  What a cool company.   I think they have some other packs in their line that would be good for other adventure applications.   I’d love to see a pack company really come in and make packs for what I call adventuring and/or bike packing.

Sorry, no gear review today as planned.   I need the weather to break again so I can set up my bivy, pad and sleeping bag.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 6:35 am

    Character building miles, huh? Maybe as important, or more so, than our nice weather miles. Be careful out there!

Leave a Reply

