Skip to content

Photo Friday and Throw Back Thursday

March 27, 2009

What a week it has been.   In all honesty, I thought today was Thursday.  I guess taking Monday off really messed with my head.   So…..Today on Photo Friday, I bring you one of my favorite cycling memories, finishing the Leadville Trail 100 Mtb race.

Finishing time:  8 hours 44 minutes

Finishing time: 8 hours 44 minutes

I will be travelling through Leadville again in August as the Colorado Trail has a detour around a wilderness area.  I will be refuelling and restocking my pack in Leadville   I can’t wait.

I'm so glad to be off my bike

I'm so glad to be off my bike

So…If you look closely there are some funny details in these photos.

1)  Check out my custom built Rock Shox fork.  It was  Judy SL crown with Judy DH lowers.  I used Englund Air Cartridges.  That fork was light.

2)  Swobo orange jersey – I loved that jersey.  Those that know me or have read the Gnat blog for long know I like orange.

3)  My titanium Ibis Mojo – It was the only bike I ever won an expert race with and the only bike I ever won money with while racing.

4)  Check out Mike Ferrentino’s (Bike magazine Grimy Handshake writer and Santa Cruz marketing dude) stare in that last photo.

5)  I rode with Shimano BMX shoes.  I still remember at mile 90 or so when someone started yelling, “Yeah dude, you are the first person riding flat shoes!  Way to go!”

6)  Last but not least, and this is for Jason Mahokey at Soiled Chamois, check out the shaved legs with no baggy shorts.  Oh yeah.

Anyway, hope you all have a good weekend planned.

Ride your bike!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 5:25 am

    You in spandex with shaved legs?? Great gooogly moogly. Where’s the hair suit/baggy wearing, all mountain, trail bike hippie I know? HA!

    Great pic. I love that look on Mike F.’s face. He’s one of my fave bike scribes of all time. He wrote a piece called The Dirt Bag (I think that was the title) that I copied parts from and had on my cubical wall for years!! Looks like he want’s to kick your ass though, or that when you walked by you did some post race “crop dusting”.

    Hope your readers know that I just joke about the legs and baggies. You’d kick my ass on a DH bike wearing a gorilla suit. I do my legs, but I think it’s probably more because I’m some manscaped mountain bike/metro-sexual odd ball. And the spandex? Well that’s a whole other issue.

    Have a great weekend.

    Jason

    p.s. I love those shoes you’re wearing. Are they suede?

  2. March 27, 2009 7:13 am

    Gnat, great photos! I like the QBP shorts. Were you working there at this point?

    Have a great weekend my friend!

  3. March 27, 2009 9:48 am

    Nice legs.

    grannygear

  4. Gnat permalink*
    March 27, 2009 10:12 am

    Funny stuff fellas.

    MF is one of my favorite writers too. He’s a good guy too. This past year at Interbike, I got to have a refreshment with Mike and we talked bikes, suspension and motorcycles.

    On this day, Mike finished just a few seconds ahead of me. We went back in forth with each other for 60 miles. At one point he yelled out loud “God damn you Midwesterners.” This was muttered when I caught him on the rolling hills leading back into town for the finish.

    GT – yeah the QBP shorts are nice. I was working there at that time.

    GG – Thanks.

    JM – I love to poke fun, but I know I’ll likely never see you with baggy shorts. One can dream though.

  5. March 27, 2009 10:26 am

    Funny thing Gnat, 10 years ago, that’s all I wore. Now I forget they sell them.

Leave a Reply

