Skip to content

My La Cruz and other drivel

March 31, 2009

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m on a mission to get all my bikes functioning.   I had several that were one or two parts shy of being rideable.  I also had a couple of old model prototypes that I needed to remove my personal parts and return them for someone else to ride.   One bike, I really missed having complete.   That bike is the La Cruz.

I did get the La Cruz up and running.  I even got a great ride on it on Sunday.

Sun & dry gravel - A perfect day aboard my La Cruz

Sun & dry gravel - A perfect day aboard my La Cruz

Last year prior to getting my protoype Salsa Fargo, the La Cruz was my main steed.  I rode it everywhere.   Since I built my first Fargo, I haven’t ridden my La Cruz more than about 200 miles.  The La Cruz is a very different beast than the Fargo.  It’s snappier.  It’s shorter.  The bike is certainly more cross bike than mtn bike.   It was really fun to stand up and really push the La Cruz on a few short climbs.   The bike really felt quick and agile compared to my comfort cruiser Fargo.

I’m still tweaking the final build on the La Cruz and will share it once I’ve got it dialed.  I hate showing bikes before they are finished.   Soon.  Very soon.  It’s nothing too crazy, but it is a really nice build.  My final spec is about long term durability as the La Cruz is one of those bikes that can be built and ridden in a lot of different configurations.  My build intent is to have a bike than can handle a long stretches of pavement, gravel, some dirt and mud with minimal maintenance.

In other bike news, I also finished the flat bar Fargo and am working on a fit comparison between the flat bar and the drop bar.  I think I’ll post that up here, but I will also be posting that up at the Salsa Amigo’s Blog.   It’s pretty interesting.

Last but not least, I got an email from Eric Parsons up at Epic Designs.   Not only is he moving shops again, he somehow managed to finish and ship Joe’s and my bar and seat bags.   I’ll be sharing my complete Colorado Trail bike with gear soon.   It should be sweet.

Sorry, not that many pics today.  I’m just too busy with bike and gear projects.  You’ll see the results of all this work soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    March 31, 2009 5:59 am

    Love the header…….

  2. March 31, 2009 1:29 pm

    Yeah, the header is very cool…

    Lookin’ forward to seeing your drop bar/flat bar Fargo comparison. I’m sure I’m not the only one…

    Cheers,
    MG

Leave a Reply

