Skip to content

Throw Back Thursday

April 2, 2009

Today I bring to you one of the greatest finds from the Gnat family junk dungeon.  My awesome wife found this while digging for some old tax documents.   Thank you Mrs. Gnat.

My 1st 35mm film camera set up!

My 1st 35mm film camera set up!

This is the set up that I used through college and on my Alaska to Utah bicycle tour.   The Ricoh was a hand me down from my sister.  Also note that a nice mini SLIK tripod (Given to me by my brother) was also found.   I really thought that this stuff had been given away or lost.  I’m so stoked.   Captain Bob, my small tripod is small enough to carry in my pack or frame bag and I’ll likely carry it at all times now.  Hopefully, you’ll see some crisp long exposure shots!

Check out that sweet lens

Check out that sweet lens

Yeah, I know that Vivitar isn’t the highest end brand, but this is a sweet Series 1 lens.   That said, it is a nice 28-105mm F2.8.  It’s got really nice glass.   It’s precision machined from fine alloy and built in Japan.  Check out the leather case.  I remember when I bought that lens ‘cuz it was the lens or a Bridgestone X01 frameset.    My choice is obvious here.  Yeah, think about that.

In other news, two trips were booked yesterday.  I’m so excited I can’t stop smiling.

Trip #1 – Fruita later this month.   I’ll work the Fruita Fat Tire Fest and get an extra couple of days for riding.   I haven’t ridden dirt for almost 5 months!

Trip #2 – Mrs. Gnat and I booked our 10th anniversary trip to Paris.  I’ll be staying a few days extra for Eurobike.    Oh yeah.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:41 am

    Great find! I bet that brings back some cool memories. I love that tripod. Should help with the great shots which should allow for you to drop the iso a tad. That in itself will clean up those long exposures.

    Sounds like your summer is shaping up to be quite a good time. Enjoy!

  2. captain bob permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:42 am

    Great find! I bet that brings back some cool memories. I love that tripod. Should help with the great shots which should allow for you to drop the iso a tad. That in itself will clean up those long exposures. I have always stunk at long exposures.

    Sounds like your summer is shaping up to be quite a good time. Enjoy!

  3. captain bob permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:43 am

    I know, you can say that again….sorry for the double comment. Feel free to block me from commenting as my punishment.

  4. April 2, 2009 4:22 pm

    Nice tri-pod. That’s an awesome deal to have come back around to you. Those are my favorite kinds of stories.

    And that tip to Fruita sounds super fun. Someday I’ll have to get out there for that. Things are complicated now and I may end up not going anywhere!

  5. Gnat permalink*
    April 2, 2009 4:39 pm

    Thanks guys. Yeah, I’m stoked about the tripod. The camera and lens is cool, but in reality I have no desire to shoot film again.

    Fruita – Yes, you need to make it someday.

    The other stuff – Hang in there. A path will be opened up for you.

Leave a Reply

