Skip to content

Friday Morning Ride

April 4, 2009

I got a great ride in yesterday.   I loaded up my Salsa Fargo with my gear and headed out.    By loading up, I mean loading my sweet Epic Design bags and my back pack.   I’m doing my commutes with extra gear to start training my body to carry and push the weight.

p4020024

Yesterday I got about 60 miles in.   Felt pretty good considering I was carrying my shelter, sleeping pad, sleeping bag, battery, repair kit, clothing and some other stuff.   It certainly wasn’t a full load, but it was pretty heavy.   By the end of the day I was reminded of the following things.

1)  Stuff on your back stinks.   I was careful wth my position and what not, but by the end of the day my back was tired.  Not hurting.  Just tired.

2)  It’s hard to change speed with a loaded bike.   When you get up to speed you don’t notice it that much, but when you try to accelerate to get through a changing light or to jump on the wheel of a passing road biker, it’s hard to change speed.   Slow and steady wins the race with a tour bike.

3)  People look at you differently when you ride with all your gear.  “Hey, are you going camping or something?” they sniggle.  “Yep, I have my shelter, sleeping pad, bag and food in here.”    Then they look at you funny and say “Really?!”

Anyway, it was a fun day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron from Massachusetts permalink
    April 4, 2009 8:40 am

    I have to agree with you on points 1&2. Commuting/riding with a backpack, no matter how light you try to make it is never really comfortable. I am definitely looking forward to the frame bag I ordered from Epic Designs. I’ve also realized that it is really hard to keep up the momentum going up a hill on the fargo. Slow and steady it is. The fargo has definitely made me enjoy “the ride” more. It really is nice not trying to go as fast as you can all the time. Since I have gotten the fargo, all the other bikes are a little jealous that they have not been touched. Keep up the great work and good luck with your training for your epic ride this summer

  2. Gnat permalink*
    April 4, 2009 9:52 am

    Thanks for the comment Ron. I am glad you are liking your Fargo. I think you all know I love mine.

    Keep riding your Fargo and if you get a good picture somewhere while out riding it, send it to me and I’ll post it up here.

  3. April 4, 2009 9:30 pm

    Gnat: I always likened riding a loaded touring bike to the way a big truck handles and the way you ride a bike loaded down is similar to how you would drive a big rig. Better shift down before you stop! Look waaaaay up the road and be prepared to start stopping or make that manuever way in advance. Saw that crack at the last second? Yeah……you’re running over that!

    Anyway, it all comes back to me prety quickly once I load down a bike. Guess it was those early tours that taught me that.

  4. April 5, 2009 4:41 pm

    Gotta love the carbon touring wheels. Awesome shots as always.

  5. Gnat permalink*
    April 5, 2009 5:08 pm

    I think they’ll be coming off soon to go back on Big Mama. I can’t wait to rip Murphy and Leb on those things.

    That said, I’ve been saying I’m going to take them off for over a month. Somehow, I just can’t bring myself to do it.

Leave a Reply

