Skip to content

La Cruz cruisin’

April 6, 2009

I’ve finally finished my La Cruz…OK maybe not 100% finished, but I have been riding it quite a bit.  I’ve gotten it out on pavement, gravel, and even a bit of trail.     The other day on my way to work, I did some exploring with it too.

I love orange!

I love orange!

I picked parts for this bike that are durable and functional.   Some are fairly high tech like the DT Swiss hubs, but the rest are tried and true good quality bike parts.    It’s set up 9 spd with 36-46 front chain rings and a 12-25 cassette.   I went with bar end shifting instead of STI because I wanted  a certain experience riding this bike.  This bike will also become the bike I ride in the slop and every component on here will put up with a lot of muck, salt and grime.    Overall, I’m quite pleased.   This bike will take miles and miles of multi-surface punishment.

On the morning when I took the above photo, I was trying to get to a specific spot to watch the sunrise and snap a few pics.    I’ve taken pics at this spot before and I love it because I can always find a different angle, reflection or object to photograph.    I also wanted to see this spot with high water.   Unfortunately, the water was too high and I couldn’t get to it.

Can you see the trail here?

Can you see the trail here?

After I stopped and looked around for a bit, I got back on my La Cruz and slogged up this long wood chip climb.  I ended up watching the sunrise from a bench on top of the bluff.   Nothing spectacular, but it sure was nice to be out riding my La Cruz, breathing in the fresh air, and exploring.

Hope you all have a good week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:23 am

    LOVE this build. I’ve been thinking of doing something very similar with some parts that I have laying around. Thanks for the inspiration. I visit your blog very often and always enjoy reading what you have to say.

  2. Eric permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:28 am

    And I’d love to see a build list. Thus far I’m working with an Ultegra rear derailleur, Gossamer crank set, 07′ American Classic 29er wheelset and Dura-Ace 9 speed bar end shifters. Should be a very similar build.

  3. sippycupnation permalink
    April 9, 2009 8:23 am

    Jason,

    I’ve really enjoyed your blog and posts for several months now. You create a fine blend of gear reviews mixed with the metaphysics of bikes and bike culture. I suggested to my wife she add you to her W.P. blogroll, even though I’m the one that reads your posts. This type of post is one of my faves. I would love to see a “build list” on the La Cruz as well. Your similar post on the “go fast Fargo” is very helpful for novices such as myself. I am on the fence between the Fargo and LaCruz as my next all purpose, one bike solution. I’ve bought off the shelf in the past but want to try a “build” for my next bike. I need to keep it cost effective and utilitarian. Keep up the great blog.

    Chip

  4. Gnat permalink*
    April 9, 2009 6:04 pm

    Thanks Chip. I checked out your wife’s blog the other day. I also see you are professional photographer. Kind of funny that you are looking for bike info and I’m always looking for camera info.

    I’ll post up a full story on the La Cruz with build full build spec. Maybe Saturday. Stay tuned.

  5. Eric permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:09 pm

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

