Skip to content

Sweet morning ride & new seat bag

April 8, 2009

I got up early and added a few miles to my commute again.   Ahhhh….Riding.   Again, I had some gear mounted to my Fargo.    I certainly don’t need the stuff I’m carrying as I don’t expect I’ll need the shelter, pad and bag for my commute to work.   However, it does give me an idea of what the weight feels like.   I also want to test gear and equipment.   With that, I bring you a pic of my Fargo loaded up with bar bag, gas tank and seat bag.    I took this shot yesterday afternoon on my way home.

Check out the new seat bag

Check out the new Epic Designs seat bag

So, this Epic Designs seat bag is optimized for my Cane Creek Thudbuster ST.  Yeah, I know thats a ti Eriksen post in the picture, but the bag mounts to just about any post.    It holds a load really nicely, has a good compression strap system, and is reinforced where it needs to be reinforced.   In this picture, the seat bag is holding a solo tent and a sleeping pad.  I put a little extra weight in it to see what it feels like while riding.   In all honesty, I couldn’t even tell it was there…..That is until I tried to bike limbo under a low tree and found out you can’t really slide off the back of the saddle and get low.   For those considering a seat bag, this is the standard size (There is one bigger).

The seat bag will hold my clothes in a water proof compression sack.   The seat bag will be carrying my evening wear; a down vest, a long sleeve Smart Wool top, knickers and warm socks.  For longer trips like the CT, there will be  some additional gear.

So with that, I thank Eric at Epic Designs for building some of the sweetest equipment made for bicycles.    Releasing myself from traditional racks and panniers has been a freeing experience.   There is still a place for racks and bags, but for how I want to experience two wheel adventuring, these frame bags have opened my eyes to new adventures.   I can’t wait to show you all the final and complete set up.   There is so much room in my kit that I feel a little like this barge.

Early morning cargo carriers.

Early morning cargo carriers on the MN River

As you can see from the pics, it was another sweet morning ride.   It was pretty chilly in the mid 20’s when I left, but that meant I could go explore the river valley a bit.  Not only did I get to see this barge cruising down the river,  I actually got several miles of dirt and gravel in when the ground was frozen.   Sweet.  I love dirt.

Come on back tomorrow for Throwback Thursday as my memories and adventures head to New Zealand.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 8:42 pm

    Jason, have you heard of this company; http://www.twinsix.com/? They’re local and have some pretty cool shirts. I tried to give the link to Jen in case she wanted to surprise you with something cool for your 40th, but she said you already have to many biking t-shirts.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    April 8, 2009 9:40 pm

    Twin Six is a great local company. I have a few of their T’s already that I’ve traded stuff for while at events.

    Too many shirts…..OK I’ll confess. I might have a few too many and even a few I don’t even wear.

    Anyway, thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

