Skip to content

Friday Morning World Championships

April 11, 2009

We had our largest group show up for breakfast.     We pretty much filled the entire restaraunt.   Folks were standing up eating at one point.   Crazy.   After breakfast, we went out side to eye up the competition.

What a sweet morning!

What a sweet morning!

The group quickly split into two groups.  On this day, I made the mistake of going with the “Fast” group.  Even though I was on my “Go Fast” Fargo, I was clearly on the heaviest and slowest bike of the group.  On top of that, I had an off day and frankly, I’m just not as fast as the other guys.   With about 3-4 miles to go, I split off on my own and ended up getting my second flat of the morning, my 3rd in 2 days.    I was worked….Still am.

It’s also time for some bike work.    I’ve ridden my Fargo for the entire winter and it’s ready for some TLC.   The tires are worn paper thin, the BB/Crank area is creaking, I broke an alloy chain ring bolt and most importantly, the bike and drive train need serious cleaning.     Thankfully, I have my trusty, and lighter, La Cruz all set to go.

Time to spend some quality time with the La Cruz

Time to spend some quality time with the La Cruz

I plan to put a slightly longer stem on this rig along with some faster tires/wheels.   I need to get ready for next Friday Morning World Championships.

One note on the La Cruz.  A few folks have asked for a build spec.  I will try to get a good side profile snap shot today and post up a complete build spec in the next couple of days.    I just need to make it fit just right and finish the build.

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    April 11, 2009 6:16 pm

    That looks so cool seeing all those bikers! What a gift it is to be able to attend one of these rides anytime you want.

    Very cool!

  2. April 11, 2009 10:19 pm

    Yeah, that is a very compelling pic…bikes all scattered, food, fixies, skinnies, drop bars, wool, knickers…good times.

    grannygear

    Oh, and I really want a La Cruz.

Leave a Reply

