Skip to content

Just say “No” to alloy chainring bolts

April 13, 2009

I mentioned on Saturday that my Go Fast Salsa Fargo is in need of some serious repairs.   I rode it all winter long and it’s starting to show.   In the past week, the following things have gone wrong; two flats, a creaking crank/bb, and a broken alloy chain ring bolt.

One of these is not like the other

One of these is not like the other

To Surly’s credit, the explicitly state to not use alloy chain ring bolts.   Well, when I went to put the bike together last fall, all I could find in my trusty tool box were 4 steel bolts and 1 alloy bolt.    I wanted to ride it now so I went with it with good intention of buying a set of steel chain ring bolts.   It lasted the winter, but last week on a ride home I knew something was wrong because I could feel it when I out of the saddle sprinting or powering up a climb.   There was an odd noise and an odd feeling coming through the pedals.  I soft pedaled home.     When I went to check the tightness of all the bolts, the black alloy bolt quickly snapped.

Alloy Failure!

Alloy Failure!

So….Just say no to alloy chainring bolts.     Don’t even be tempted by the pretty colors that they come in.   Just say no!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 6:28 am

    Yep! Been down that road. As a lover of all things anodized, it is hard not to do the alloy chain ring bolts, but as a single speeder, well…….you just don’t tempt fate, ya know? Glad it didn’t leave you stranded and walking.

Leave a Reply

