Skip to content

Salsa La Cruz Build Spec

April 14, 2009

I’ve been riding the La Cruz a bit lately.    I’m still getting the fit dialed in.    You might think that considering I rode the La Cruz something like 1500 miles last year, I’d still fit it.  Well…..Two things are different this year.   First, I’ve lengthened the cockpit on my Fargo and now I want a longer top tube.   Second, I’m testing some new “Compact” bars from other manufacturers.

My Sweet La Cruz

My Sweet La Cruz

I spent quite a bit of time planning this build out.   The bike had been through repeated builds and rebuilds.  It’s been built as a flat bar twice and a drop bar twice.    This is where I ended up.

Frame:  Salsa La Cruz, size 53 (57tt)

Fork:  Salsa CroMoto La Cruz

Headset:  Cane Creek S3

Rear Derailleur:  Shimano 105

Front Derailleur:  Shimano 105 double

Crank/BB:  FSA Gossamer Cross, 36-46

Cassette:  Shimano Dura Ace 12-25

Chain:  Shimano Dura Ace 9spd

Brakes:  Avid BB5 Road (being replaced with BB7 Road)

Shifters:  Shimano 9speed bar end

Brake Levers:  Cane Creek (can’t remember model)

Seat Post:  Thomson Elite (I changed positions last year and now use a non offest post)

Saddle:  Selle Italia Flite Ti

Bar:  FSA Compact (will be replaced with a Salsa Bell Lap)

Stem:  Soon to be released Salsa ProMoto Ti

Tape:  Salsa Black Gel

Tires:  Old Trek Invert Tires (will be replaced with either Vittoria or Challenge diamond tread cross tires)

Tubes:  Yes, I use tubes.

Rimtape:  Rox Ultralite double wrap

Rims:  Salsa Prototype Salsa Semi rims

Hubs:  DT Swiss 240 Disc, 32hole

Spokes/Nipples:  DT 2.0/1.8 with DT nipples.  Red alloy over red peppers on rims!

Other misc stuff:  Jagwire Ripcord brake cables, Salsa Lip Lock seat clamp, Salsa leather chainstay protector, old Time ATAC and prototype Salsa Halter Top levers.   I like to have these additional levers for off road riding and pulling my kids on trail a bikes.

Overall, this is one sweet bike.  It can handle road, dirt, and miles of gravel.   It’s sort of the build of a bunch of old, sweet, & reliable components.   I’ve called out a few pending changes.  The only one that really matters are fit related; the stem and the bar.  I need another 1-2 cm of reach and will be altering both my stem length (same stem) and the bar to get the fit dialed.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 4:57 am

    Looking good as always. Very nice.

  2. April 14, 2009 6:49 am

    We had a customers LaCruz in for adjustments yesterday. That bike looks great with the orange paint and subtle graphics.

    Yours is looking great Gnat.

  3. April 15, 2009 7:09 am

    Great looking bike. Do you have any photos of the flat bar version that you’d be willing to post?

  4. Eric permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:32 pm

    Thank you for the post. Looks fun.

  5. sippycupnation permalink
    April 16, 2009 8:20 pm

    That is a gorgeous ride! Thanks for sharing. Can you put a rear rack on the LaCruz frame? It looks like the back brake might get in the way?

    Thanks,
    Chip

  6. Gnat permalink*
    April 16, 2009 8:38 pm

    Thanks. Thanks for checking back too.

    Rear racks on the La Cruz. There are options and may require some spacing out of the racks to clear the disc brake.

  7. Eric permalink
    May 6, 2009 8:23 am

    Hope this doesn’t come across as rude, but I’m trying to find a used 57 cm Salsa La Cruz frame set. Thought maybe I’d ask you since I’m striking out everywhere else! Love your blog and check it frequently. Thanks! -Eric

  8. Gnat permalink*
    May 6, 2009 4:27 pm

    Eric, thanks for the note.

    I will put a couple feelers out with folks I know. No promises, but I will look.

  9. Eric permalink
    May 6, 2009 6:36 pm

    Awesome, thank you so much for even considering it. I wish I could just buy a new one but I simply can’t afford it! Thank you! -Eric

Leave a Reply

