Skip to content

The Road to 40 – Testing

April 20, 2009

Friday I leave for Colorado.   It’s been a little over 1 1/2  years since I’ve been to Grand Junction and Fruita.   Back then, I was testing version 1 and version 2 of Salsa’s Big Mama and I was not in the best of physical condition.   I spent one day riding with Paul from MRP/White Bros followed by two days riding around with Mikesee.   It was a crushing 3 days.

Yes, it is as fun as it looks!

Yes, it is as fun as it looks! (Photo by Mikesee)

This time, I am in a bit better shape and on a different mission.   I’ll be spending some time working the Fruita Fat Tire Festival.  I’ll also be spending a little time testing and prepping my body and gear for my bigger trip later this year.   Here’s the rig I’ll be riding this trip.

Big Mam with Epic Bags and my Osprey Pack

Big Mama with Epic Design bags and my Osprey Talon 22 pack

I’m sure someone will ask me why I am not riding my XTR Big Mama with the Edge wheels?  Well…..Fruita’s and GJ’s chunk is not good for XTR chainrings.   Also, I had put a new Rock Shox Reba with 20mm thru axle on it and the negative air chamber quit holding air on Friday’s long ride; making for a really harsh ride.   So….I put the final all black prototype back into action.   It is pretty much a full Shimano SLX group with a 22×36 double and some nice DT Swiss 440 w/Semi rims.   Definitely not as light as my other bike, but it will be perfect for this trip.   I’m still working through the tire set up.  I think I’ll bring something like the Nevegals or Rampage for playing on the trails and something like my Nanoraptors for the longer and faster trail days.

I can’t wait.  I’ve just got a couple of last minute gear changes to make and I hope to get one last MN mtb ride in to make sure my set up is dialed.

Colorado, here I come.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 5:30 am

    Looks like that should work great as a Fruita rig. No doubt the SLX is heavier, but reliable and the bash guard will be perfect for rockier tracks.

    Colorado looked awfully white from the window of the airplane at 38,000 feet yesterday. Hopefully your trails will be perfect by the time you get there.

Leave a Reply

