Skip to content

Strange bike part – What is it?

April 21, 2009

Hey folk, Happy Tuesday.  Before I get to the meat of today’s post, just want to say thanks to all those folks that clicked over to Art of Riding.   I already received a few submissions!   So make sure to click on over and check it out.   Better yet, share  what you’ve seen while riding by submitting pictures and words to GNAT at LIVE dot COM.

So…Onto today’s post.   I was digging into one of my old parts crates and ran across this cool old bike part.   Do you know what it is?   I do, but wonder how many of you readers remember this little gem?

What is it?

What is it?

I know some of you know it as I know a few of you that read the Gnat Blog have forgotten more about old bike parts than I ever learned.   I’ll be mounting this to one of my rigs (likely my Fargo) one of these days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    April 21, 2009 5:54 am

    I think it’s a pedal plug. It lets you thread this plug into the crank arm where a normal pedal would go. Then, you can tread a new pedal in each hole. So, for long rides you can either be clipped in at pigeon toed, duck footed or just ride on of the plug and both pedals like a huge platform pedal.

    Am I even close? I didn’t think so.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    April 21, 2009 6:13 am

    Sorry Captain, you are a bit off on this one. I bet your good friend GT knows what it is.

  3. April 21, 2009 8:45 am

    I think it’s a type of stradle cable/rod hanger. Rather than a stradle cable, it uses a treaded rod, that allows custom length adjustment for each leg of the rod, going to the canti brake contact point…thingy. I’ve got some Odyssy ones that look similar. That’s my wild guess. Cheers.

  4. April 21, 2009 3:53 pm

    Gnat: You have waay too much faith in me! I haven’t got a clue what it is, but I would take a stab and say it is an extra bottle mount of some sort.

  5. April 21, 2009 3:58 pm

    I’m going for guess #2. Some type of straddle adjuster for roller cam brakes. I’m hung up on the brake thing.

Leave a Reply

