Skip to content

Desert Solitaire

April 28, 2009

I’ve been enamored with the desert for a long time.    I can’t even remember where this love for the south west began.   In December I read one of Everett Ruess’ books on the way to Taiwan.    His ramblings, writing and art got me fired up to see and experience the desert again.  I also have memories of Edward Abbey’s Desert Solitaire which I read on my Alaska to Utah bicycle tour.   I love the desert.   You can see what you want to see in the desert.  If it is remoteness you seek, it’s easy to be alone.  If it is simplistic beauty you wish to see, all you have to do is open your eyes.   If it grand and majestic views you seek, look up or look down.

Where does this road go?   What will I see?

Where does this road go? What will I see? Is there anyone else out here?

Well…..If you go around that corner and ride for about 10-12 more hours, you can see this.  

The view from above Moab.

The view from above Moab.

Even though the desert is filled with life and color, thanks to Edward Abbey, Everett Ruess and Ansel Adams I often see the desert in black and white.   For me the desert is a great place of personal contemplation.  I like to go to the desert for it’s remoteness and grand beauty.   I like to go the desert to think and get energized.    I sort of go into a cave in the desert.   Black and white seems to fit my personal ideal use and function of the desert. 

This time though, I am leaving the desert with a greater appreciation of it’s beauty.   I’ve seen a lot of it on this trip.  I’ve spent A LOT of hours in the saddle looking around and thinking.  I am also leaving the desert with an appreciation for color and energy.   I love the desert.  

A view from above - Colorado National Monument

A view from above - Colorado National Monument

This has been a great trip.   I’ve pushed the limits of my body and my equipment.   One more day.   One last ride.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    April 28, 2009 5:35 am

    Good uff Gnat. Loving the stories and the pictures. Great pictures.

  2. captain bob permalink
    April 28, 2009 5:41 am

    I mean good stuff. 🙂

  3. April 28, 2009 8:11 am

    Nice. I’ll be anxious to hear how the Big Mama performed and climbed throughout the trip. I’m gonna test her out on some big climbs this coming weekend. See how it goes.

  4. John permalink
    April 28, 2009 5:01 pm

    Great photos and great scenery…thanks

  5. April 29, 2009 5:36 am

    I miss the desert too. Your comments echo my feelings about it. Thanks for the great pictures.

Leave a Reply

