Skip to content

Which way do I go?

May 4, 2009

A week ago I was out in the desert testing mind, body and equipment.   It was a short and intense trip.   I’ve got a lot to process and since I’ve been home I haven’t had much time to do that.  My bike is still in my Pika Pak.    I’m still swimming in thought from last week’s trip.

Which way do I go?

Which way do I go?

I flew home last Wednesday tired and sore.   I made some mistakes out there.   In fact, just this morning my right hand feels normal.   I’m also in search of a new saddle.   I think both of those can be solved with some small corrections and simple changes.    However, the bigger things and mental barriers are much harder to overcome.

push-challenge

I’ve been selfish in my pursuit of better health and riding big miles.   At times I’ve forgotten what is important.   Rather than think about other’s needs, I’m obsessed with my own.  This week I’m going to get back on track and see where the rest falls.

Hope you all have a great week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    May 4, 2009 1:38 pm

    Very nice shot of the escalators, great tonality and symmetry.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    May 4, 2009 6:47 pm

    Thanks John. I had some time to burn at the Denver airport. I liked this one a lot. I had one with a person going down, but for this post I liked that there was no reference of up or down.

  3. May 4, 2009 11:19 pm

    Balancing the family act AND a cycling addiction can be tough, I’ve been through it but this year my miles have suffered as I suddenly realized my oldest will be getting ready to fly the nest at this time next year & it happened so fast I’m in a tailspin. I’ve been trying to do more of the things my kids want to do which for 3 out of my 4 isn’t cycling, the miles on two wheels will come back for my wife & I, the kids may not once they spread their wings, oh sure, for the occasional visit maybe.

    Good luck with your decision, it’s tough!

  4. May 5, 2009 9:02 am

    Achieving that balance can be tricky, but the inner voice (you know who) will tell ya the truth if you listen. And, in the end, while there may be less focus on you and some sense of frustration and time lost for training, goals, etc, the widened focus on others and their needs will bring more satisfaction and joy. Funny how that works.

    grannygear

  5. Gnat permalink*
    May 6, 2009 4:46 pm

    Granny Gear – You are a wise man. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

