Skip to content

Hitting the Reset Button

May 18, 2009

Last week was a big week for me.  A big weight was lifted from my shoulders.  I found my way.  Somewhere in the Utah desert I realized I was on a solo journey and I didn’t like it.   I was becoming a person that I did not want to be.

Last week, I decided to not attempt the Colorado Trail Race in August.   I am relieved.  I am a bit bummed.  I am excited.  I am sad.   No single emotion can describe what I’m feeling right now.  That said, I have a sense of peace that is undeniable.

Rock Mountains will have to wait.

The Rocky Mountains will have to wait.

Now, I want to be clear that this is a good choice and there is no hardship related to my decision.  Nope.  Rather, I have new opportunity on the horizon filled with new trails, pavement and gravel .   It will be a great year of riding without the burden of the CTR.   I can’t wait.

Later this month, the Gnat family is heading to North Dakota, Montana and South Dakota.   I see some dirt, pavement and single track in my future.     I can’t wait to share the stories and pictures.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:51 am

    Great for to listen to you heart and make the decision. Your new trip soulds like a better one and even better that it includes your loved ones. Can’t wait to hear about it.

    Should we assume that you are taking three different bikes?

  2. Gnat permalink*
    May 18, 2009 6:31 am

    Thanks CB. I’ll be bringing at least one bike and 2 cameras.

  3. May 18, 2009 2:04 pm

    Sounds like a good decision. Sometimes actually making the decision is the hardest part then the peace settles in.

    grannygear

  4. May 18, 2009 5:56 pm

    The great thing about an “epics” and “adventures” are that they are so much closer than people think and ARE what you make them. I’ve been finding some epic rides and adventurers in the mountains 40 minutes from my house. I used to drive 3 days to Colorado for those types of adventures. Now I won’t dare to compare the Rockies with our Western PA “hills”, they are still filled with days in the saddle and miles under my wheels. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

    Ride that road to 40 dude. Whether it be pavement, gravel, or dirt. It’s all good.

    Good luck.

    j

  5. Gnat permalink*
    May 18, 2009 7:19 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement and the kind words fellas. My road to 40 is far from over. My journey will be filled with several more good epics that will without a doubt qualify as adventures. Some will be close to home. Others will be quite a ways from home. Stay tuned.

  6. May 18, 2009 9:28 pm

    Well, I know about those types of decisions. It was just a year ago I let go the DK 200 race for ’08 and felt much the same as you. Now I am going this year, and my family is coming along. Much better result to what (then) looked like failure, in a way. Anywho…

    I had an art instructor that told the class once that if you can let go of what you thought the dream should be, work with it, and chase it to its end, it will become something you never dreamed of in the first place.

    Take Care my friend.

  7. Marty permalink
    May 20, 2009 7:31 pm

    Courageous decisions are always hard to make, but the end results and actions that come from that decision is usually better than what the original was. Worked for me, and I know it’ll work for you too Jason.

Leave a Reply

