Skip to content

Pentax K-7

May 21, 2009

Yesterday it happened.  A camera maker finally made the “right” digital SLR for me.    If you are a Gnat reader, you probably know I love my Olympus E420.  It takes great pictures and we all know that a good photographer can take great pictures with a not so good camera.    But…I’m a gear guy and have dreams for my non cycling “hobby”.

Pentax K-7 - Photo from www.dpreview.com

Pentax K-7 - Photo from http://www.dpreview.com

I won’t go into the details because this would turn into a multi page post, but I will tell you the details that matter to me.  This is a very, very cool camera that will be perfect for my bike excursions.

– It’s small.  Why is every “Pro” or “Pro-sumer” camera from Nikon, Canon and other camera maker huge?   I can’t pack those in my pack.  That is why I ended up with my Olympus.   Besides, I’m just not a Nikon or Canon guy?

– It’s tough.  Water, dust and weather proof.  Magnesium body.  Operates down to -10 degrees.   This is an adventurers dream camera.

– It can take almost 1000 images on a single battery charge.  Now that is what I need for my excursions.  No more worries about running out of power and carrying extra stuff.

– It is nearly silent.   I love my point and shoot because folks don’t even know I’m taking the picture.   It has been reported by an actual user of this camera that the shutter makes less noise than the auto focus!

Other bonus features.

– Video – I’m not a video guy but I’m experimenting here.  Still not a real feature for me, but cool and I’m sure I’d use it.

– K-Mount lens mount – My old manual focus lenses and filters will work!

Now….The good news is that I’ve got time to sell stuff before they are available (August).   Stay tuned for the Gnat Bike and Camera gear sale!   It’s coming.   It’s coming.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    May 21, 2009 5:42 am

    Nice to see Pentax kept their famous weather sealing. Sounds like a perfect camera for me too.

  2. Red Sox Fan permalink
    May 21, 2009 5:27 pm

    Any chance the sale items might include a set of the EDGE Composite wheels?

    RSF

  3. Gnat permalink*
    May 21, 2009 5:37 pm

    Nope. Those are keepers for sure. Sorry.

  4. Red Sox Fan permalink
    May 22, 2009 7:29 am

    Do you by chance know who has the best pricing on these?

    RSF

  5. Gnat permalink*
    May 22, 2009 8:22 am

    No idea as I got mine direct when I was in Utah visiting them.

Leave a Reply

