Skip to content

Minneapolis Sunrise

May 23, 2009

After this last week or two of posts showing blue sky and sunrise & sunsets, you’ve probably had enough.  If this is true, stop reading and looking now.   I left the house at 4:45AM on my Salsa Fargo to ride to a specific location only to be denied of the picture I had in mind.  Instead, I rode to another location.  Again, shut down.  By this time I only had 15 minutes before meeting the Friday Morning Breakfast crew so I headed in that direction.   I was early and took a brief rest at Lake Hiawatha.   It was a worthy stop.

Morning Sunrise over Lake Hiawatha

Morning Sunrise over Lake Hiawatha

I only took a handful of pictures before heading out to meet my friends.

Morning Flight

Morning Flight

Another great Friday morning ride.    The bicycle is such an amazing tool for getting around and seeing beautiful things.

Oh…In other news, some of my images are now being used by schmaps, an online mapping service.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    May 23, 2009 11:02 am

    Great shots as usual Gnat! I am really impress with the dynamic range you are getting out of the LX3. Many shots with other cameras would not retain all of the contrast in the reflection on the water. Very nice. Keep up the good work.

    What dynamic range setting are you using? Aren’t there five color and three b&w dynamic range settings?

  2. Gnat permalink*
    May 23, 2009 11:14 am

    Thanks CB

    Yes, both BW and Color have normal and dynamic settings. I use both. That said, I’ve been spending time experimenting with Lightroom too. It is pretty amazing.

    I expose for highlights and then pull the darks and shadows out.

  3. captain bob permalink
    May 23, 2009 11:19 am

    Cool. And, being able to pull out the darks only really works well with a sensor that has such a good dynamic range. Being able to retain those details in the darks is tough. My Nikon D50 (yes, I know, it’s old) doesn’t have the best DR and getting good contrast is difficult, even with software. I should upgrade someday. Maybe not. It works good enough. I do still seeing myself owning an LX3 but by the time I pull the trigger there will probably be an LX5 or 6 out there. 🙂

    Rode with GT today. That boys gettin fast!

  4. Gnat permalink*
    May 23, 2009 11:55 am

    Captain, the LX3 is my favorite camera I have ever used. It continues to amaze me. You’ll see a review in the next few weeks here. The short of it though is that it is one little amazing camera.

    Can’t wait to ride with both you and GT.

  5. May 23, 2009 12:21 pm

    You really need to post a few of these over at Skywatch Friday…

    http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

