Skip to content

My Off Road Adventure Salsa Fargo

May 26, 2009

Well….I finally got it done.   Introducing my off road adventure Salsa Fargo.  This is the bike that will take me places.   This week it will take a day trip on the Maah Daah Hey in North Dakota, some pavement & gravel in Billings, MT and who knows what in South Dakota on our way home.

My Off Road Adventure Salsa Fargo

My Off Road Adventure Salsa Fargo

Sure was fun getting out to Lebanon Hills this past weekend.  It was even more fun passing some of those dudes on full suspension bikes!   Here’s a quick run down of the components.

Frame:  Large Salsa Fargo w/fork

Headset:  Hope

Rear Derailleur:  XT Shadow

Front Derailleur:   XT traditional

Crank:  SLX with a 22-36.  Outer guard replaced with Salsa Ring Dinger

BB:  Hope Stainless

Cassette:  XT 11-34

Chain:  SRAM 9spd

Brakes:  Avid BB7

Levers:  Tektro RL520

Shifters:  Shimano bar end, 9 spd

Seatpost:  Cane Creek Thudbuster ST

Seat Clamp:  Salsa Flip Lock QR

Saddle:  WTB Silverado, soon to be replaced with a Fizik Aliante Off Road

Bar:  Salsa Bell Lap, 31.8 clamp, 46cm

Stem:  Salsa ProMoto Ti 80mm x 5 degree, 31.8

Tape:  Salsa Black Gel

Tires:  Hutchinson Python, but these change weekly.

Tubes:  Yes Tubes

Rim Strips:  ROX

Hubs:  DT 440

Spokes:  DT

Nipples:  DT Alloy

Rims:  Salsa Prototype Semi Rims

Cages:  Velocity Adjustable

Straps:  Dimension Leather cut short to hold water bottles on fork legs

Front Rack:  Nitto

Frame Bag and Gas Tank:  Epic Designs

Pedals:  Time ATAC

Chain Stay Protector:  Salsa Leather

Other:  Jagwire compressionless brake housing and stainless slick tandem length cables

Not Shown:  Bar bag and custom seat bag by Epic Designs.  One note, I don’t always use the bar bag.  Sometimes I strap a dry bag to the front rack instead.

Oh yeah, this one is a keeper.    Stay tuned for some Fargo Adventuring.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 4:40 am

    Nice 🙂 I run the Hope stainless BB’s on two of my bikes- and soon to be Fargo and they are so so smooth eh? That build looks like a good mix of sensible vs bling which I can relate to 🙂

    Happy trails!

  2. May 26, 2009 5:23 am

    Very nice set up. Definitely a keeper! I hope your adventuring aboard this Fargo ia rewarding and trouble free.

    Take care!

  3. May 26, 2009 12:32 pm

    That Fargo build looks GREAT, can’t wait to see a ride report on it & the Maah Daah Hey as I’ve been interested in trying that one myself. I was up there when I was 10 years old for a week long vacation with my folks & would love to see some of that country on a bike, I remember Medora, ND & Teddy Roosevelt’s cabin well, neat country.

  4. May 26, 2009 12:47 pm

    Looks nice dude, and in what I like to call full on “Revolution Ready Mode”. You and the Fargo, along with the cockroach, will ride on long after “the end”. LOL!

  5. May 26, 2009 4:16 pm

    Nice… My “only” Fargo just got moved a notch to the off-road side last night with a couple of choice component swaps, most notably being the addition of my ExiWolf-treaded rear wheel, instead of the Vulpine. Man, what a difference a shot of volume will make! Sadly, I also robbed it of its Ti post, as my red El Mariachi was calling out for it, in prep. for a coming race that I might use it for.

    Revolving garages… You gotta’ love ’em.

    That Pro Moto Ti stem looks awesome. Can’t wait to get a couple to try out for myself. It won’t be long now!

  6. Gnat permalink*
    May 26, 2009 6:15 pm

    Thanks guys.

    Paulmeister – Thanks for chiming in from New Zealand. I wish I was there riding with you.

    GT – Good luck at DK with your Fargo

    PaxtonCoyote – Should be perfect and good for the Badlands and what I have in mind.

    Jason – Yep, the Fargo and the Cockroach. Perfect and Hilarious.

    MG – Garage revolution – I like the sound of that and I’m sure if you wanted more than one Fargo I’m sure that you have a few “friends” that could help you with your habit.

  7. T.Smith permalink
    September 12, 2009 11:32 pm

    Hi, which model of Nitto did you put up front?
    Terry

  8. T.Smith permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:25 am

    Nice set up…What model Nitto did you install on the front?
    T.Smith

  9. Gnat permalink*
    October 11, 2009 5:31 pm

    I think it is the M-12. I don’t know I picked it up at a bike shop in Japan.

  10. Tom Phillips permalink
    December 2, 2009 10:24 am

    Gnat,
    I am half a minute off from ordering the Fargo but am still obsessing over the correct size. I had a Salsa Ala Carte, 18 in. It was a bit too small and my lucky nephew has it now. I ride 56-58 road bikes and a large T2000 tourer with a 31.6 SO and 21.5 TT eff. My inseam is 33-34 and I am 5’11”. I ride the saddle at 31 ins. from the center of the BB and like my bars even, 31 as well. I don’t want to overload with spacers on the med and don’t want to break my pelvis on the large. I have contacted Salsa and Eric advised my to select the large based on the information I provided. I just wanted additional support from someone who is fortunate enough to have both sizes.
    The bike is perfect for what I want and where I like to go, exploring. I want to get the size right because I am going to be spending some serious time on the bike. You and Salsa will be copied by indie builders.
    I love your set ups. You are going to see a lot of cloning and you didn’t even have to borrow Dolly. The frame bags are a nice addition.
    Thanks and best regards,
    Tom

  11. Gnat permalink*
    December 4, 2009 4:44 pm

    Tom, this is my old website so I am sorry for not responding sooner. I’d say you are a large given what you have told me.

    Again, sorry for the delay. Check out my new site at http://www.gnatlikes.com

  12. justanoldhobo permalink
    December 9, 2009 7:17 pm

    Gnat,
    I couldn’t log in on the new site to comment. My wife threw me out of the vehicle in front of the bike shop today and I rode away on a medium Fargo. I didn’t have much time so only got about 10 miles on it but it was even sweeter than I expected. I love it when a bike just rolls like a 27 mile wind is behind it!
    The medium feels right. I am so in the drops and I don’t ride drops on my road bikes. My hands went to the drops and never left. I love to ride in the woods, railroad beds, old munitions plants and wanted a little space above the bar. Had Salsa made this bike in 2006 I could have saved a bunch trying to find the perfect bike for me.
    Great work detailing the bike and excellent end product.
    Thanks!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. March 17 – Surly Nice Racks « The s2plr Blog

Leave a Reply

