Skip to content

Photo Friday – Devil’s Tower

June 5, 2009

About 17 years I gazed upon Devil’s Tower as I drove to Utah.  Unfortunately, I needed to get to Utah so I only gazed upon it from afar.   I did not have time to stop and look around.

What is that thing over there?

What is that thing over there?

Thankfully, on our recent trip west, the Gnat family took time to take a closer look.   We took the kids on a 1.3 mile nature walk around the base of the tower.    I am still blown away by this mass of rock.  The rock takes on so many looks and moods depending on what angle you view it from.   Here is one of my favorite shots from that day.

I think the tower looks best in black & white

I think the tower looks best in black & white

I hope you all have a great weekend planned.   I’m going to catch up on some much needed home time and work on a few projects.

In other Gnat photo news, check out Issue #2 of XXC here.   Download all 62 pages or view it on Scribd.   Jason Mahokey gave me a several page spread with some words and pictures from last month’s ride on the Kokopelli.   Jason Mahokey, great job and thanks for the opportunity to share my story and a few pics.  I hope I can contribute again in the future.

Ride your bike!  Take some pictures!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 4:52 am

    Thanks! You have open invitation man.

    – Jason

  2. June 5, 2009 10:05 am

    Nice shot with the horses. It’s so different than what others do with this feature.

    Oddly enough, I always wonder if there are any diamonds in the area, since this volcanic formation is related to how they are formed in other places in the world. (I know, I am odd that way!)

    This is a sacred spot for Lakota Sioux, if I am not mistaken. It’s easy to understand why.

  3. Gnat permalink*
    June 6, 2009 7:37 am

    Thanks guys. GT, I don’t know about any diamonds in the area, but yes this is a sacred area for the Native Americans. I’ll be writing about that one of these days.

Leave a Reply

