Skip to content

It’s Time – New ATAC XS Pedals

June 15, 2009
tags:

I’ve ridden Time pedals for about a decade.   In those 10 years I’ve had 3 pairs of pedals.   I still have each of those pedal sets.   Recently I realized how much these pedals needed work.   One set has a broken spring plate.  One set has axle/bearing play.  One set is so old and weighs a ton.   All are worn out to the point that I can barely bunny hop.

Time ATAC XS

Despite the sad state of my pedals I just couldn’t bring myself to pay for a new set.   Due to the sad state, I was considering trying a different pedal system.   Well, my resistance paid off.   On Thursday I got these in exchange for a $20 donation.  20 Bucks!

I rode them on Sunday and I was blown away at how good a positive contact with your pedals feels.  No creaking.   Solid engagement.   This is what I’ve been missing for the last 3 to 4 years.   I’ve been a dope.   Pedals are critical to performance and I’ve neglected mine for years.

I’ve got them mounted to my Fargo.  Yeah, I know I don’t have the pedal washers installed.   I’m not worried and it moves the pedals about 2 mm’s inward.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 6:18 am

    You know, I’ve got a set of old Time mtb pedals. I don’t think they have over a months use, and then they were given to me. Interested in another “donation”? 🙂

    Yeah, as far as pedals go, it seems they are really expensive for what they are. I always end up with cast offs from the shop, but lately I was compelled to buy a new set of Shimano pedals and yeah…..what a difference!

  2. Gnat permalink*
    June 15, 2009 3:41 pm

    GT – I will absolutely take you up on that. I’ll trade for something. I’m sure I can come up with something you might be interested in…..

    Hope we can work out that swap sometime this summer.

  3. June 16, 2009 6:08 am

    was reading an editors note in MBA a couple months ago, where the author compared a 1985 bike to todays version. Disk brakes, suspension, drive train, shifters, etc, etc.

    so many things have changed and have been improved, but from his perspective, at least what I got out of it, clipless pedals, as compared to all other components for overall, everyday ride enhancement, has been the best improvement from the single sided cages.

  4. June 18, 2009 9:26 am

    I’m with ya’ on that one, scotch. hands-down, clipless pedals are the #1 best improvement in the ride.

  5. June 18, 2009 9:29 am

    … and gnat, i’m with ya’ on time. the roc atac carbon is my current favorite. i actually choose them over the xs model these days for the metal shoe/pedal interface and the old school round spring interface (which has worn better and creaked less over the years for me). i have three sets of them now on various bikes and all are holding up superbly.

  6. June 24, 2009 3:45 am

    I did teh very same thing with some Candy’s….i just kept riding and riding – metal on metal- play on play- grinding away. I just could not justify the expense to move all of my steads back to Shimano (as Crank Brothers are terrible….). Eventually I did and it was like I could turn the cranks!

    I’ll never neglect pedals again. In fact a Shimano set had a “bit” of play…..and I fixed it. Amazing! 😀

Leave a Reply

