Skip to content

Obsessed with 2009 Tour Divide

June 16, 2009

Just warning you that today is likely my first post in as long as I can remember that doesn’t have a picture.

I’m obsessed with the Tour Divide.   I want to check the SPOT tracker and leader board every time I see a computer.   I zoom in.  I look at the order of the riders.  I click on the folks I’m following to see when the last spot update occurred.   I zoom closer to see what terrain they came from and/or are going into.  I speculate about what is going on.   It’s driving me and those around me crazy.

If you aren’t obsessed or haven’t found one of these links yet, don’t click here or here.

Ok, I’ve got to get back to the tour.   Go Joe!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 5:10 am

    I’ve been the same. I know two folks doing it. Joe of course and my buddy from Princeton-Tec Justin Kline. One of the hardest bike races in the world, and while it receives NO mainstream media attention what-so-ever, it’s damn nice to be able to check it out the race via the Spot site.

  2. June 16, 2009 12:26 pm

    The Tour Divide is MY Super Bowl, ok, I’ll admit, I could care less about football but I LOVE the Tour Divide. I’ve been a David Nice fan now for a few years who just happens to be running it in reverse this year on his fixie, I’m quickly becoming a Joe Meiser fan though, I hope he nails it!

    This is a GREAT race & it’s awesome that we can follow along with it as my chances of ever pulling off something this cool are slim & none!

  3. Troy Lawrence permalink
    June 16, 2009 12:46 pm

    I find myself smitten with the event as well. Living vicariously through those folks for the next few weeks. Good luck to Joe.

  4. June 16, 2009 9:20 pm

    Absolutely the best race in the world to follow… I toured the most of it and it is absolutely stunning landscape, even racing it these guys must be soaking up the sights…

    OTOH, I’m wondering if Matthew is going to break a record this year. I’m sure he wants to retire with a bang.

  5. Gnat permalink*
    June 17, 2009 4:54 am

    You are a lucky man to have ridden most of it already. Even luckier that you plan to do it again.

    Yeah, I think you are right about Matthew Lee. The short youtube vid I watched of the start pretty much set the tone. Nothing like starting a one month journey with a pace that looked like a 2 hour XC race.

    I can\’t wait to see this play out.

Leave a Reply

