Skip to content

Seeking Freedom

June 17, 2009

Last night I spent some quality time writing and looking at photos from my recent Maah Daah Hey trip.  Sometimes It’s hard to put words on paper as to why I love riding so much.   I found myself in this struggle last night.   My words didn’t really represent what I wanted to say.   Today I woke up with clarity.

Riding is freedom.

Now I feel I’ve got a great life with my family, community and job.   God’s grace put me in this place.   But….From time to time, I need freedom.   Freedom from the city.   Freedom from work.   Freedom from never turning off my brain.   Freedom to think freely.    Freedom.

A peaceful overlook

A peaceful Badlands overlook

Lately, I’ve not been that motivated to ride.   I’m tired.  I’m burdened.   My mind is constantly turning.  I am searching for that freedom again.     So I’m prepping for another trip.   I’m taking my Fargo and heading out.

MDH Fargo

My next trip will involve riding fresh dirt in a state I’ve never ridden a mountain bike.   It will entail a 5 night mini off road tour and my set up is slightly different than my Maah Daah Hey set up.  The set up is far more off road focused.  I rode it for about 30 miles of single track, pavement and gravel on Sunday and I think I’ve got it just right.  I’m waiting on some new tires and I’ve got one final tweak yet to be made followed by a fresh wrap of bar tape and it’s ready to go.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. captain bob permalink
    June 17, 2009 5:34 am

    Bike looks good. Do you get much bobbing out of the seatpost? I have never ridden one of those Cane Creeks before.

    I am getting excited about my next bike…… 🙂

    My planned build will be more off road oriented but will still allow for some comfy miles in the saddle.

  2. Gnat permalink*
    June 17, 2009 5:49 am

    CB, good to hear from you.

    The ST post is amazing. It’s like riding a bigger tire. It smooths out the trail just a bit and is dreamy on gravel.

    The only thing I can’t stand about it is the look of it, but I figure I can’t see it when I am riding.

  3. Matt permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:56 am

    Agreed. Bike looks good.

    Did you cut the steerer on this Fargo?

  4. Gnat permalink*
    June 17, 2009 4:08 pm

    Thanks Matt.

    Yes I did cut the steerer. I can’t remember how much, but it certainly was cut.

Leave a Reply

